Goodbye, 2012.

I have been meaning to get back into blogging again with a “recap of 2012” post, and then I woke up this morning and saw that today is February 1, 2013.  Say WHAT?!  Apparently February 1st is my annual “Hey You, Remember When You Used To Blog?” anniversary.  I still can’t believe that 2012 flew by so fast and here we are all full-force into this 2013 business.   Without further ado, let’s get all caught up on 2012. 

I wish I had been a better blogger in 2012, because it was packed with so many new experiences and fun (as well as not so fun) memories.  It would be impossible to try to go back and recap it all now, but here are just a few highlights:

January

Dave and I started the year off engaged!

He liked it so he put a ring on it. ;-)

He liked it so he put a ring on it. 😉

February

I took a weekend trip to Portland to dress shop with my mom & two closest friends.   Picked out my dress within an hour at the first place I went.

A dress that is actually long enough for me.  CRAZY!

A dress that is actually long enough for me. CRAZY! (Excuse the non-flattering look)

I also got to show a little Portland beauty to my native-Texan maid of honor, Krissi (Um, it was cold, y’all.  Note to self:  Don’t go to Multnomah Falls in February.)

IMG_6880

Multnomah Falls with Krissi and Rin!

Oh, and approximately 20 years late, that same weekend, I got my ears pierced for the first time.  Click that link to go see the fabulous photo commemorating the event 😉

March

Dave and I started invisalign.   It was a rough start, but the progress has been amazing.  I wish I would have started sooner!  Click here for more details on getting invisalign and a lovely pic of me getting fitted for the molds.   Apologies for this semi-groddy picture but I am excited about the progress so far.  The top is from around March 2012 and the bottom is from January 2013.  My teeth look even better when not in super-close up mode (so the buttons aren’t quite as obvious).  I am scheduled to be completely done in January 2014.

10 Months In....

10 Months In….

Dave and I also went to Charleston for a wedding (our second trip together) and finally took a carriage tour (LOVED it!).   I am really beginning to understand why those Citadel guys are so obsessed with that city 😉

Our horse... post tour :)

Our horse… post tour 🙂

Me & My Handsome Husband-To-Be at the Boyd-Lynn Wedding :)

Me & My Handsome Husband-To-Be at the Boyd-Lynn Wedding 🙂

Rain on your wedding day is good luck, right? Little did I know.... ;-)

Rain on your wedding day is good luck, right? Little did I know…. 😉

April

Dave surprised me with a trip to the Wild Animal Park for my birthday, including a giraffe safari ride.   One of the best days of my life!  (for a girl who is obsessed with giraffes!)

<3 <3 <3

May

We took a long weekend trip to Atlanta to visit Dave’s mom after she had surgery, and threw in some wedding planning and an engagement photo shoot while we were there.  My mom came along for the ride. 🙂

Photo courtesy of Curt Collier Photography.

Stone Mountain, GA.  Photo courtesy of Curt Collier Photography.

June

Flew by.  It was a whirlwind.  Tons of work.  Tons of wedding planning.  Began trying out the train commute from San Diego-LA.   Hiked this “mountain” with Meghan and Dave and almost died.

Iron Mountain.

Iron Mountain (I thought we were almost to the top before we turned a corner and saw this).

July

We turned a long weekend in Portland for a bridal shower into an epic Oregon tour with some of our best, non-northwestern friends 🙂  We ate a ton of delicious food, went on a Goonies tour in Astoria, went wine tasting, drove (almost) to Mt. St. Helens, tried Voodoo Donuts for the first time, went to a beer tasting… It was a couple of days packed with fun (and often unintentionally color-coordinated outfits)!

319458_10102182359720473_935166721_n

Straight from the airport to Multnomah Falls. Where else??

Beer tasting in Astoria... YUM!

Beer tasting in Astoria… YUM!

IMG_8027

297646_10102182369810253_1821351785_n

Oregon Wine Country.

 

August

A crazy amount of work, and finalizing wedding and honeymoon details.  While I booked hotels for the honeymoon, Dave tried his hand at reupholstering some chairs.  To think we almost got rid of this dining set… We LOVE it now!

Before (right), and after (left).

Before (right), and after (left).

Oh, and despite swearing for years that I would rather do pretty much anything other than run… I took up running! 😮

Brand new (girly!!) running shoes 🙂

I started a couch-to-5K program and was up to 2.25 miles shortly before the wedding!  Sadly, due to the craziness of wedding prep, honeymooning, holidays, and various sicknesses… I totally fell off the running bandwagon.  But I really want to pick it up again ASAP.  Even though it makes me want to die.

September

On September 8, 2012, we tied the knot on Dave’s family’s farm in McDonough, GA!  The week leading up to the wedding and the wedding day itself is deserving of its own separate post.  But for now, a pic!

Photo courtesy of Curt Collier Photography.

Photo courtesy of Curt Collier Photography.

October

Epic 3 week honeymoon in Europe!  Also deserving of separate post(s)!  Below are pics from Ireland and Rome.  We also went to Florence, Pisa, Cinque Terre, Venice, and London.  More posts to come! 😉

 

Ireland!

Ireland!

Rome!

Rome!

November

We hosted Dave’s parents and my mom in San Diego for our first married Thanksgiving!  I left the cooking to the seasoned chefs:  Dave and our moms.  I set the table and warmed the rolls.. that counts for something… right??   This trip is also deserving of its own post, so for now I will just leave you with a picture of the food, because, why not??

photo-51

Thanksgiving Feast

December

I dubbed it “Christmas Tour 2012.”   We flew from San Diego —> PDX —> ATL —> San Diego.   Also deserving of a separate post.  There were some sad/scary health events, quite a bit of work, and then Dave caught a cold…. But overall it was so great to get to see both of our families for Christmas!

Christmas Day Fashion in McDonough, GA ;-)

Christmas Day Fashion in McDonough, GA 😉

And there you have it.  My 2012 at glance!  Whew… Now I think I need  a nap 😉