The Cardboard Box Diet.

So I should probably change the name of this blog to “the bimonthlychelle” at this point given the frequency of my updates… I do want to update more!  I really do!  And now, I’m adding a weekly feature that might get my blogging self in gear! 

I’ve been telling myself I need to get back in shape for probably a couple of years.   And then I got engaged in January and I was all “OK.  Now it’s seriously time to get in shape!”   And now…  The wedding is just over two months away!  And the closest I’ve come to “getting back in shape” is going on a 5 mile hike on the weekends… followed by consuming half of a large pizza for a reward.  True story! 😉

I am not, and hopefully never will be, the type of person that goes crazy cakes on a diet and eats tasteless food, or practically starves herself and works out three hours per day.   However, right now, I do absolutely nothing.  I don’t work out and I don’t remotely watch what I eat.   I don’t consider myself fat, but over the past few years I’ve put on 20-25 pounds and my clothes are fitting very tight (some not at all).  Luckily for me, I’m super tall so I hide 20-25 pounds fairly well.  But I’m at the point where I either need to buy new clothes, or drop some pounds.  And the thing is… I am like this because I don’t work out at all or watch what I eat at all.  And the reality is that it’s not healthy to never work out or never watch what you eat.  Even if you’re stick skinny, it’s not healthy!

Enter: The Cardboard Box Diet.  It’s a new thing started by LaurenFromTexas, and it’s not an actual diet.  It’s just about a group of girls out here in the blogosphere committing to make healthier decisions, and in a sense keep each other accountable.  You can read more about it here.

I think that is just what I need!   When I have someone around who is working out too, it really keeps me motivated to work out.  Otherwise, I’m all “you know, I could work out, but I could also just get a piece of banana bread and sit down and watch TV.”  And I generally choose the latter.   In college I managed to work off 50 pounds because I started going to the gym all the time with my friend Juliana.  And my mom visited last June and went to the gym with me every day.  I felt great, and was already noticing results by the end of the week.  But then my mom went home… and I have probably been to the gym 5 or 6 times in the YEAR since she visited.   I hope having to blog about this every week will help me get it together.  I will not go hungry.  I will not work out a million hours a day.  And I’m not going to eat nasty “fat free” or “low fat” foods.   But I am going to start making a conscious effort to work out more.  And I am going to start watching what I eat more and try to make healthier choices when I can, and maybe say no to second and third desserts now and then.   My current diet generally consists of sweets, carbs, and occasionally some meat thrown in.  Maybe try to work in more fruits and veggies?  It’s good for my sanity, my general health, and my hopes of fitting in my wedding dress and not looking like a hot dog come September 8th 😉

So without further ado, my answers to this week’s questions (will be the same questions every week):

  • Weigh-in: Starting point.  I can’t find my scale, and I’m pretty sure I gave it away when I moved.  I’ll buy one this weekend and get on track 😉   I am pretty sure I am 20-25 pounds over my ideal weight.  I won’t list my weight but I will list pounds lost (or gained).
  • Exercise completed: I have started walking to and from the train station when I take the train to work.  It’s a little over 1.5 miles each way.  Dave and I have been trying to get in at least one 5 mile hike every weekend.  I would also like to bust out my 30-day shred DVD and do that a few times per week.
  • Splurge/Guilty Pleasure: Um, the list of healthy choices this week would honestly be shorter than my list of splurges.  Let’s check back next week 😉
  • Success story: I’ve been walking to work instead of taking the shuttle.  The shuttle costs $0.50 each way, so technically I’m getting a little exercise AND saving money!  🙂
  • Recipe(s): Check back next week.. I am not rocking in the healthy meal ideas at the moment.  Last night we made homemade pizzas using buttermilk biscuits (I just squish them really flat to make mini pizzas).  We topped them with marinara sauce, grilled chicken, carmelized onions, goat cheese, and fresh basil from the garden.  DELICIOUS.  But not the healthiest thing ever.
  • Photo: Right before I started law school was when I was at my lowest weight as an adult.  I wasn’t do anything crazy.  I just worked out regularly and ate small meals all day rather than 3 large meals.  I didn’t deny myself any foods I wanted, and the extent of my “making healthy choices” for food meant not choosing something deep fried when possible.  The craziness of law school (and my job), got me in the habit of eating three large meals, and often waiting to eat until I was starving so then I eat waay too much.  Hence the weight gain.  But I think I can get to the place below again 🙂

Me (on the right), 20-25 pounds ago at the beginning of Law School.

3 thoughts on “The Cardboard Box Diet.

Leave a Reply

