March Maddening.

Somehow Dave convinced me that participating in a March Madness bracket pool this year was a good idea.  Let’s see… I know pretty much nothing about basketball, and especially nothing about any college basketball teams.  So what would be a good idea?  Attempting to predict the winners of 63 college basketball games.

I used an extremely scientific method to choose my winners: (1) What was my opinion of the school’s colors?; (2) What my opinion of the school’s mascot?; and (3) What was my opinion about the state the school is in, generally.   The ultimate tiebreaker for me, between two blue teams that it made it to the final and both happen to be from states that I have no feelings about (Kentucky and Kansas) was the fact that about 8 years ago I randomly happened to be watching a college basketball game, and Kansas happened to be playing, and I thought one of the players was cute.  Therefore, I decided that Kansas was my favorite basketball team for the sake of any March Madness conversations that came up that year in college.  If you know me, you know that I have a tendency to make decisions very quickly.  Luckily for me, those quick decisions are always very scientific and very rational 😉

Unbeknownst to me, it turns out the two teams I put in the final are currently ranked #1 and #3 in the country.   The only thing I did know for sure about March Madness is that there are upsets, and I understand upsets to mean a lower ranked team beating a higher ranked team.  So I was pretty sure my final two picks would not make it to the end, but I refused to change my bracket and upset my very scientific method.  Besides, what did I care if I lost?  I picked Norfolk State over Missouri because Norfolk State was green and yellow which reminded me of the Oregon Ducks.  Also, I have no idea what exists in the state of Missouri, but I have been to Virginia.   Not exactly a winning strategy, y’all.  But guess what?  Norfolk State, a #15 seed, beat Missouri, a #2 seed, in the round of 64.   I was the only one in my bracket pool who chose Norfolk to win that game.  Also, of the first 9 games that happened, I picked the right winner for all of them.  All of a sudden, I became obsessed.

I am normally not a competitive person at all.  But I have somehow lost my mind over here.  It drives me nuts being at the bottom of the bracket.  I don’t mind losing, but I don’t want to be the biggest loser.  Also, if I am the biggest loser, I don’t want to lose by a lot.  Unfortunately, my strategy for picking teams has me poised to lose by a lot.  All of a sudden I care way too much about something that I didn’t give a second thought to (or even a first thought) a week ago.  I keep refreshing the ESPN page on my phone, and turning every game on for the last 5 minutes and almost having a heart attack every time as the team I chose to win either wins or loses by one freaking basket.  They should have a disclaimer for this thing because I’m pretty sure my heart might give out.

The craziest thing about all of this is that I have sooooo much else to be dealing with right now.   My actual job and planning my wedding just to name the obvious.  But let’s see… It could also help to grocery shop, get Ellie’s nails trimmed, find a dress for the wedding I’m going to in two weeks, work out, finally draft all of those travel posts I’ve been intending to write, read one of the million books on my “to read” list that I “don’t have time to read.”… But no my friends.  None of these things matter right now.

I found myself kind of hoping that Kansas would just lose last night and put me out of my misery.  But then when I was watching the final 5 minutes of the game* and I was like “NO THEY CAN’T LOSE!”  And luckily or unluckily they did not lose, and I am destined to be obsessed for at least another week.

*Is there any point to watching the entire game, when it just goes back and forth the entire time, and is super close the entire time?  Besides the redundancy, I don’t think my heart can handle such back and forth when my bracket is on the line 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

