Whirlwind Southern Tour Part I: The Southern Mount Rushmore.

Back in December, Dave and I did a whirlwind tour of the south for Christmas (Atlanta, Pensacola, and Biloxi in a week).  We left the dogs with a dog sitter, and flew to Atlanta to meet up with Dave’s parents who live in McDonough, GA, Dave’s hometown.  On the first full day, Dave, his mom, and I drove up to Stone Mountain.  I’ve heard it billed as the “Southern Mount Rushmore” because it has carvings of three Confederate political figures in the side of the mountain.

Here are the fun nerdy details from our good friend wikipedia.com:

Stone Mountain is a quartz monzonite dome monadnock in Stone Mountain, Georgia, United States. At its summit, the elevation is 1,686 feet (513 m) amsl and 825 feet (251.5 m) above the surrounding area. Stone Mountain granite extends underground 9 miles (14 km) at its longest point into Gwinnett County. Numerous reference books and Georgia literature have dubbed Stone Mountain as “the largest exposed piece of granite in the world”. This misnomer is most likely a result of advertisement by granite companies and early park administration. Stone Mountain, though often called a pink granite dome, actually ranges in composition from quartz monzonite to granite and granodiorite.  Stone Mountain is well-known not only for its geology, but also for the enormous bas-relief on its north face, the largest bas-relief in the world.

Hey, so if Confederate icons aren’t your cup of tea, you can appreciate the fact that it’s the largest bas-relief in the world.  That has to be a way cooler thing to check off your bucket list than seeing the corn palace, am I right?

There are tons of things to do there.  When we went, there was a winter festival going on and they were pumping snow to make a fake mountain side for inner tube rides.

We walked around and then took the summit skyride to the top of the mountain.  For $9, you can take a roundtrip skyride to the top.

You can also hike to the top for free, but this girl was wearing leather boots, and those boots were not made for hiking.

(My Stone Mountain Fashion: Sunglasses $4.90 (Forever 21); Sweater $7 (clearance at Old Navy); Scarf ~$2 (purchased for one pound in London); Jeans $35 (on sale at GAP); Boots $90 (bought them several years ago at Nordstrom Rack); Purse $47 (Coach, on clearance several years ago).  I may be a “fancy” lawyer now, but I still appreciate a good bargain!) 

The skyride totally brought me back to my Switzerland adventures (for some reason the pictures don’t show up anymore on the posts.  Boo!).  The view from the top was GORGEOUS.

I was taken aback by the actual view.  Apparently Dave was interested in a different view (i.e. me) because most of his pictures are of me looking at things.  😉

Even here, Dave is taking a picture of me and his mom, looking at the pictures he is taking… of me.  Haha.  This was back on the ground though.

Have you heard of Eye-Fi memory cards?  He has one in his fancy camera, and it is wirelessly sending all the pictures he takes, as he takes them, to my iPhone.  How crazy is that?  It will also wirelessly send pictures to a computer or iPad.

I loved Stone Mountain so much that we have decided to have our engagement pictures taken there when we go back to visit in May.  I also plan to tell all our wedding visitors about it so they can be sure to visit if they are looking for fun things to do in Atlanta.

4 thoughts on “Whirlwind Southern Tour Part I: The Southern Mount Rushmore.

    • You should definitely check it out! We’ll be putting together a list of things for people to see/do while they’re in town! 🙂 Both the pastors and my Dad and Step Mom are planning to come Thursday-Tuesday so they have plenty of time to see things 🙂

  1. And in the summer, they do a laser show at Stone Mountain. Or at least, they did 20 years ago (I lived in Atlanta for 7 years).

    (is it weird that the two touristy type places you tend to post about, San Diego and Atlanta, are places I used to live in? seems oddly coincidental that I’m always commenting about your tourism posts)

    • Yep! They still have the laser show, and I’ve heard it’s really cool. Hopefully I get to see it one of these times I head out that way. It is funny that you seem to have lived all the places I visit 😉

Leave a Reply

