Day 14: A Day For Love.

Ten on Tuesday questions from RootsAndRings.

1. How do you feel about Valentine’s Day?

I have mixed feelings.  I’ve never been a fan of forced romance, and it kind of pressures people to be all cliche romantic.  But I’m not all “I hate it it’s a hallmark holiday” either.  I just don’t want red roses and a stuffed monkey holding an “I love you” heart.*  I’ve also never been one to feel bummed that I am single on Valentine’s Day.  To be honest, the best Valentine’s Days I’ve ever had were (1) getting all those sweet valentines in grade school; and (2) spending the evening with my best girlfriends during college.  I’m pretty sure every year we cooked dinner together, made brownies, and watched Blue Crush.  I’m not sure why we didn’t figure out that there were other movie options, but I loved those Valentine’s Days just the same 🙂

2. Are you in love?

Excuse my french, but heck yes 🙂

3. What is your favorite love song?

I’m not a big “love song” person.  I don’t hate love songs, I just don’t tend to sit around on a regular basis listening to them.  Whenever I try to think of one, I think of the part in the Wedding Planner when Fran and Eddie are listening to a CD trying to pick their “song” for their wedding, settling on “I Honestly Love You” by Olivia Newton John.  And then later Mary (played by J. Lo) says, “Oh, oh, and I Honestly Love You as your wedding song? You might as well commit matrimonial suicide right now!”  What? Doesn’t everyone think of mediocre romantic comedies starring J. Lo every time they try to think about love songs?  Nonetheless, I do plan to gather a ton of cute love songs to play at my wedding reception.

In non J. Lo news, today I heard the song “Today” by Joshua Radin and I LOVE it.  Unfortunately the reason I heard the song was because apparently some people named Cane and Lily are getting married on The Young and the Restless.  I can’t have a song at my wedding that was on a soap opera wedding, right?  Darn you Cane and Lily!!

I guess what I should have just said is, “No. I do not have a favorite love song.”

4. Did your parents do anything for you on Valentine’s Day when you were a child?

I can’t really remember.  When I try to think of Valentine’s Day as a kid, I only remember this one time in 4th grade where one of my (male) classmates wrote “I love you” on one of my valentines.  And I was all “OMG HE LOVES ME” and then it turned out his mom made him write that to everyone 😦  Attention all mothers:  Do not make your 4th grade sons (or any aged sons) write “I love you” on any valentines to any girls.  It is misleading.  Of course, in 3rd grade I got a box of chocolates from a boy and thought I was special, and it turned out his dad worked for a chocolate company and made him give everyone chocolates.  So maybe I just jump to conclusions a little too quickly.  Maybe all those grade school let downs are the reason I now hate cliche romantic gestures.  Who knows?  We’ll save that conversation for the therapist I don’t have 😉

5. What is your love language? 

So… I’ve never read the Love Language books but I have always thought my love language was attention (although I know that is not technically an option).  Not in an “I need attention 24/7!” way.   But I feel loved by pretty much any action that shows the person was thinking of me.  The smallest things (like sending me a random text message, picking something up from the store that I mentioned I needed, an unexpected hug or kiss, or washing my dishes) can make me feel SO loved.

I just took the quiz linked above, and my love language score was 10 for quality time, followed closely by acts of service and words of affirmation.  My score for gifts was 0.  You can’t buy my love, y’all.

6. How do you celebrate Valentine’s Day? Gifts? Dinner?

Almost always having dinner with girl friends, because I’ve very rarely been dating someone on Valentine’s Day.  This year, I am engaged and the husband-to-be and I are not exchanging gifts, but we are making dinner together.

7. What is your favorite flower?

I like simple flowers.  I was in love with tulips for the longest time.  I still like them, but they are probably tied with gerber daisies in terms of flowers I’d like to receive.  But I mostly have various types of white flowers on my mind these days, because I have wedding reception centerpieces on the brain and I’m leaning toward simple white flowers.   I pretty much don’t like any roses.  Especially not red roses.  However, I think I can get behind white roses.

8. What is your favorite love story? (Book and/or movie.)

Eh, it would be hard to pick my favorite love story of all time, but I can’t get enough of Runaway Bride.  “I guarantee there’ll be tough times. I guarantee that at some point, one or both of us is gonna want to get out of this thing. But I also guarantee that if I don’t ask you to be mine, I’ll regret it for the rest of my life, because I know, in my heart, you’re the only one for me.”

9. What is the most romantic thing someone has ever done for you? Or you have done for someone?

Dave’s map letters were super romantic.  That was an intense labor of love, y’all.  I also think about one time at my apartment when I was out of dishwasher soap and Dave washed all of my dishes by hand.  Or when Dave took my car to get it washed and waxed while I was getting two root canals.  Ok, so maybe acts of service are my love love language?

10. How did you meet your spouse/significant other?

We met on a dating website after we both had friends encourage us to join.  I dated a guy I met in law school for over 3 years and it ultimately didn’t work out, and I went on a few dates with others in between.  When I “met” Dave, we talked daily via email for about two weeks before we exchanged phone numbers, then talked for hours a day for about a week before we finally met up for a first date, which ended up lasting around 14 hours and is recapped here.  I also wrote a post about love recently mentioning a few more of the details here.  The rest is history.  🙂

 

*To be fair, I did once receive a stuffed monkey holding an “I love you” heart from a boyfriend, and my anti-cliche romance heart did like it.  But that was also because we had a thing for monkeys, and it was a particularly cute monkey.  I have also received stuffed giraffes holding “I love you” hearts from family members that I thought were adorable.

Leave a Reply

