Ten on Tuesday: Travel Edition

How to perfect to randomly return to blogging for a travel 10 on Tuesday (the original purpose of this blog!).  Questions from RootsAndRings.

1. What is your dream vacation?
Right now, all I can think about is how bad I want to fly to Ireland and spend a week or so driving around the edge of the whole island (can you call it an island)?  I’ve driven around part of Northern Ireland before on the Coastal Causeway (see here), but I would love to do the whole thing!   Currently tentatively planning on this trip for April 2012.   Also planning to hit Italy on that trip.  I’ve never been to Italy, but for some reason I’m more excited about going back to Ireland.  Kind of crazy. 
 
2. What has been your favorite trip so far in your life?
Hmmm….. Way too hard to choose.  I was so lucky to get to live in England for 5 months and travel to so many great places.  Can I just count the time I lived in London (with weekend travels included) as one “trip”?  If not, it’s a pretty close tie between that trip to Ireland, a trip to Switzerland, and Dave and I’s recent trip to San Francisco.   Also, I don’t have a link to it, but I really loved a roadtrip I took with my fam years ago when we moved my brother from Oregon to North Dakota (who knew parts of Idaho and Montana were actually pretty?  Bananas).  
 
3. If you and one of your best friends could go anywhere in the world for one week, where would it be and why?
Depends on the friend.  If it was Dave or Krissi, I’d want to go to Ireland.  If it was Joni, Hawaii.  If Melissa, Alaska!  Along with my crazy urge to go back to Ireland lately, I’ve also been wanting to finally see Hawaii for the first time, and travel around some small towns in Alaska (a la the town in the movie The Proposal).
 
4. Have you ever booked a trip using an online deal? How did it go?
Airlines and hotels on a fairly regular basis…. back in college my friend Juliana and I booked an all-inclusive trip to Mexico (including air and everything) on travelocity.  It went well!  Also booked several airline/hotel combo deals while I was in Europe.  I was always satisfied except for that one time when my hotel in Spain ended up being on the wrong side of the barrio, if you know what I mean.
 
5. What’s your favorite thing to do while you’re on vacation?
It depends.  I love to get out and experience new cities, I love to get out in nature and do outdoorsy things (e.g. scooter down a mountainside in Switzerland or kayak in the ocean in Mexico), and I also like to just go somewhere completely relaxing and just chill.  I would actually really love a trip where I go somewhere and do nothing sometime soon. 
 
6. Have you ever missed an opportunity to take a trip that you regret?
Yes.  Two big ones.  First, while living in London, I never made it to ITALY.  It was in my top 3 must visit places and I didn’t go.  Second, while living in London, I was supposed to visit my friend Bre in Germany, but I ended cancelling (and losing out on the plane ticket money).  I had an unexpected trip to the U.S. for an interview, and when I got back, I was so wiped out and so behind in school I just couldn’t bring myself to get on a plane and head over to Germany.  Now it’s a HUGE regret.  Why didn’t I just go?!
 
7. You travel far away from home and get stranded with no way to buy anything, what’s the one thing you can’t live without?
Hopefully I have my iPhone 😉
 
8. What’s one of your favorite traveling memories?
So many… scootering down that mountainside in Switzerland with the Looneys, that time I went scootering again and crashed because I tried to look behind me while going downhill,  seeing that crazy band at the top of Jungfraujoch, that time I was in Barcelona and people busted out in the dance from Thriller, that time I was in Barcelona and we happened upon a kids festival with a spanish version of the Wiggles and one of the guys jumped off stage and smacked me on the butt, that time I drove around the coast of Northern Ireland, that time we saw a devil parade in Brussels (why don’t I have a post about that?!), okay I’m getting tired of searching now so I’m just going to say some more without linking….. climbing to the top of Notre Dame, taking photos in the bathroom at the top of the Eiffel tower, climbing to the top of the cathedral in Strasbourg, the canal tour in Amsterdam, the vampire hotel room I shared with the Looneys in Switzerland, the time Meghan and I went to Napa, and spent our first night eating Mexican food and then getting a bottle of wine and cookies from a convenience store to consume in our hotel room because we like to keep it classy, seeing the Eiffel tower twinkling at night, the time Dave and I rode bikes across the Golden Gate bridge and it started pouring down rain so hard it washed some of the color out of my jeans and shrunk my TOMs, the time the Looneys and I went to Colorado for 24 hours…. Ok this is way more than one.  I have too many great travel memories…..
9. All included resort or backpacking? Why?
I have never been backpacking, so it sounds a tad tempting because I love being outdoors.  If a friend proposed these options to me, the “I like new things!” part of me would be tempted to choose the backpacking trip.  However, I’m not a huge fan of bugs, or being cold or dirty for too long of a period of time… so I would probably be complaining and fairly miserable around day 2 and wondering why I didn’t choose the all-inclusive resort option 😉   I think day trips into nature are more my speed.

10. Are you more of a lie on the beach kind of person on vacation, or do you prefer to see the sights?
Depends on the trip.  Well, I’m never really a “lie on the beach” kind of person.  Perhaps walk on the beach, or sit in a covered area and read a book kind of person.   Sometimes I like more mellow activities like that, and sometimes I like to get out and see everything.  It just depends.  It still surprises me that my favorite trips in Europe were the ones where I didn’t get out and see all the popular stuff, but got out in nature and went for hikes, drives, etc.
Leave a Reply

