Long Overdue: San Francisco Part II- Down Came the Rain and Washed The Dark Wash Out.

After our trip to Alcatraz, we rented bikes for an 8 mile bike ride from Fisherman’s Wharf, across the Golden Gate Bridge, and down to Sausalito.  Our plan was to have lunch in Sausalito, and then catch a ferry back to the Wharf.

This is what Sausalito looks like on a sunny day

As is evident from some of the pictures from our adventure to Alcatraz, it was a sunny, beautiful day.  The PERFECT day for a bike ride across the Golden Gate.  So we rented bikes and we were off.  I know a lot of people who go to San Francisco for the first time want to drive across the Golden Gate.  Getting to bike across the bridge was so fun!  We stopped for a lot of photo ops along the way.

 

 

 

 

At the point where we took this photo, we had been stuck behind a tour group of people riding SEGWAYS.  Really? Lazy man’s walking tour I guess.  People, do not go to San Francisco and ride a segway around.

 

By the time we reached this point, it was like “…where did all those clouds come from?” But you know, it’s a bay, clouds roll in, it gets foggy, etc.  I really wasn’t worried about it at all.  Overall the bike ride was beautiful.  And I’m an Oregon girl so I can find beauty in a cloudy day 😉  Our bike ride was along the shore the whole time up until this point, and I just couldn’t get over how beautiful it all was, and how happy I was to be riding a bike in such a beautiful place instead of working 😉

Right about here is when the bike ride got a little tougher because we had to go up a pretty steep hill to get up to cross the Golden Gate.  Pretty sure I walked my bike for part of the time, but my memory is hazy.  Dave is hardcore, I don’t think the hill phased him at all.

Once we got up to the bridge, the wind was a little much so I finally put my sweatshirt on.   We stopped about halfway across to take pictures.

Right after we took these pictures, something crazy happened.  All of a sudden, there were little water droplets hitting my sunglasses.   Just a couple, and then it got to the point I had to take my glasses off because I couldn’t see.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have sunglass wipers?  Why hasn’t anyone invented that?  Oh, probably because it usually doesn’t go from sunny to pouring down rain in a span of 5 minutes when you are halfway across a bridge with no hope of turning back.  Right.

By the time we reached the other side of the bridge, it was pouring.  We sought shelter at a rest stop and considered whether we should wait it out, turn back, or keep going.

I tried to get Dave to make a pouty face with me.  I don’t think he quite understands what a pouty face is.

After waiting it out for a bit, we decided it likely wasn’t going to stop and we might as well continue on to Sausalito (the closer location) and catch a ferry back to the Wharf.  It was a bit scary riding downhill in the rain (and without helmets), but we tried to keep it slow and steady.  The rain was nice and steady too 😉  We were completely soaked.  I was wearing skinny jeans which was a poor choice for biking in any event, but especially when they were completely soaked.  It was so hard to move my legs.  And when I say soaked… I had a puddle in my pants, y’all.  And it rained so much it washed some of the dark wash out of my jeans.  There are permanent lines where the color washed out.  My TOMs shrunk.  (Note: they have since stretched out again.  Thank goodness. I love those shoes!).

By the time we made it down, tons of other bike riders were already there waiting in line for the ferry so we got in line.  I am not sure how long we had to wait in line, but it was over an hour and it was still pouring the entire time.  Dave watched the bikes for a few minutes while I sloshed through the rain into a coffee shop and got us two coffees and two giant cookies.  At this point we had ran down the pier, walked all over Alcatraz, and biked 8 miles since breakfast.  I was HUNGRY.  And since we weren’t exactly in any condition to sit down at a restaurant, we were going to have to wait for more food until we got back to our hotel and changed.

Some people found the situation very humorous (including Dave and I), and some people were acting like it was the end of the world.  I actually kept my cool until a point where we had been standing there FOREVER with our bikes, and a new ferry came and the guy was letting all of the people without bikes, who had been standing there for 5 minutes, pass us to get on first.   I started losing my cool a little bit in that moment because we had been waiting for so long and we were soo wet.  I was also hungry.  And wet.  And cold. Did I mention the wet part?  But I held it together 😉  I managed to find a heater inside and stood right in front of it.  Who cares about the rest of the sad, wet souls on the ferry?  Not this girl.  I was keeping the heater for myself.

(Technically everyone else chose to sit instead of stand, and weren’t 8 feet tall like me, so they couldn’t have reached the heater anyway.  For once my height was a perk!)

I am not 100% certain but I am pretty sure the rain stopped right about the time that the ferry pulled away from Sausalito.  Once we were back at the Wharf, we returned our bikes, and stopped in a few stores around Union Square to find new clothes for Dave because he was wearing the only warm clothes he brought with him, which were now soaked.  We also stopped by a pizza place for a personal pizza to go so we could have a snack to hold us over until we could get changed and get to a real restaurant for dinner.

For some reason we didn’t manage to take any pictures of our complete soakedness.  However, within about 15 minutes of returning to the hotel room, we were dressed and ready to head out for dinner.  You couldn’t even tell I had just been soaked to the bone.

 

Dave found a recommendation for a french place on Yelp called Cafe Claude.  It turned out it was also in an alley like the place we’d went the night before.  And this time we sat outside.  The food was delicious and the setting was fantastic.  We just don’t have places to eat like that in L.A.  (little alleys that take you right back to Europe).  At least not that I know about, and according to the lady at the table next to me, who had about 30 years on me, L.A. doesn’t have places like that.  So there you have it 😉

 

Next up, our trip to Napa for the wine train, and hike in Muir Woods 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Long Overdue: San Francisco Part II- Down Came the Rain and Washed The Dark Wash Out.

  1. Pingback: Ten on Tuesday: Travel Edition « The Daily Chelle

  2. Pingback: Day 2: Groundhog Day. « The Daily Chelle

Leave a Reply

