Chronic Underplanner.

As the title suggests, I am a chronic underplanner.  I think my “go go go/hate to waste time” personality combined with my lack of patience are to blame for this condition. 

Once upon a time my mom and I decided to take a day trip to Canada, two weekends after 9/11, and didn’t think to (1) fill up the car the night before; (2) take jackets; (3) take a map; (4) take birth certificates or passports; or (5) think about how we might pay for parking if places were cash only, among other things.  We laugh about it now but that was seriously a bad idea.  We are lucky we made it there and back ok (especially since I almost ran over the border guard attempting to open my trunk on the way back into the U.S. … a story for another day).

Anyway, my chronic underplanning skills came to life again last week in the form of bright, lemongrass paint.  I decided to paint a couple of walls in my new loft before moving in.  Thankfully, I had some help from Troy, who had remodeled and painted his entire house.  The only thing I pre-planned was picking out some paint swatches to bring home and check in my loft’s light before buying.  And I knew I would need some of that blue tape.  But I didn’t think of things like extra brushes, plastic sheets to protect the floor, anything to clean up potential accidents, changes of clothes, or, you know, even buying enough paint to give each wall two coats, etc.  Luckily Troy thought of extra brushes and plastic sheets.  But we found ourselves painting last Thursday night.. and only realized my lack of planning skills when there was a spill on the floor.  Finding myself with no paper towels or regular towels to wipe up the mess (and pretty sure toilet paper wouldn’t do), I ended up cleaning up the mess with water and an old shirt.  The shirt became our spot-cleaner for the night.  Then, when it was time to wash out the brush used for cutting in, I realized I did not have any form of soap.  So we just went with old school hot water, a wringing from the old shirt, and hoped for the best. 

Who starts slapping paint on rented walls above rented hardwood floors without any care or concern for ability to clean up messes?  Apparently this girl.  Don’t tell my landlord.  However, I am pleased to report that despite my failings at preparedness, everything turned out just fine!   So while I may suck at thinking ahead, I manage to work everything out in the end 😉

I am going to post some pics, but I think it’s best to wait until it looks a little less like a huge tornado swept through the place, and a little more like the cozy home I intend it to be.

Leave a Reply

