June 10, 2010….

…Is the day I got a new family member.

Random people out there in the blog world, meet my adopted little girl, Ellie:

A coworker found her running in the street about a week ago.  Wednesday she was trying to find the dog a new home and heard through the grapevine that I was planning on getting a dog.  Longish story short, Ellie and I are now together 🙂

(She had no chip, no tags, no calls in response to found dog reports at local shelters or found dog signs in the neighborhood.. It’s only been a week but I’m thinking if her parents haven’t called by now they’re not going to…).

She is adorable and sweet and I’m already totally in love with her, but I also am totally exhausted.  Not quite sure how I am going to balance dog parenthood and work and life, etc.  We’ll see how this goes.

Luckily, she LOVES to sleep which makes the working part a little easier:

Sleeping between my back and the couch back.

She likes to hide her face while sleeping...

Stay tuned for a story about this morning that left me feeling like an exhausted working mom and likely solidifying my lack of desire to have my own children 😉

5 thoughts on “June 10, 2010….

    • The vet said about 18 months – 2 years. My guess before going to the vet was 2ish. To keep things simple, I’m going to consider 6/10/10 her 2nd birthday and just say 2 🙂

    • Already done! My coworker who rescued her took her to the vet to check for a chip (there wasn’t one) and look her over, and then I took her to the vet once I had her to get a full check up and a couple of shots. They’re not sure if she’s spayed or not because she was a little swollen, so I have to wait to see if she goes into heat or not. If she does go into heat, I’ll get her spayed shortly thereafter so we don’t run into trouble with her rolling around with the boys at the dog park ;).

Leave a Reply

