Ten on Tuesday.

Wow!  So sorry I have been MIA for my few faithful readers out there!  I don’t even have being busy at work as an excuse this time.  I’ve been traveling quite a bit (Portland, Orlando, Houston, and Denver) so maybe sometime this weekend I can update on those adventures… I’ve just had a LOT on my mind.  A lot of stuff that is not public blog material.  So every time I come here wanting to make a light hearted post I can’t get myself to do it because of all of the other stuff.   But anyway, today I’m going to give posting a try with some Ten on Tuesday questions. 

1. If your name was a verb, what would “to Michelle” mean? (Insert your own name though…)
I think the definition of “to Michelle” would be one of those terms with multiple definitions that are fairly different and make you think “wow, how does this one word mean such different things?”  Such as:

             michelle (mih-shell) verb:  1. to randomize; 2. to sillify;  3. to incite joy; 4. to storytell; 5. to sing out random portions of songs like a radio flipping through stations; 6. to procrastinate until the last possible second and still come out victorious; 7. to be ridiculously tall.

2. What myth have you always wanted to prove or bust?
That whole cracking your knuckles debate.  It’s always a debate amongst my grandparents when I crack my knuckles in front of them.  Grandpa says it will give me arthritis.  Grandma says it’s an old wives tale.  I have big hands and don’t want big knuckles, but a girl’s gotta relieve that pressure now and then!

3. If you had the ability to get a message out to the entire world, what would you say?
I always have these things where I am like “someday when (if) I am President, I am going to have little fireside chats and sit everyone down and have some etiquette lessons.  For example, do not cut in line.  When you are listening to headphones around others, make sure only YOU are hearing the music.  When you live in an apartment, do NOT own drums.  When you are merging onto a HIGHWAY, do NOT drive 25mph.  When encountering a tall person, who is a complete stranger to you, do NOT gawk at them and ask them a string of personal questions.  I could go on FOREVER.  I should really write these down somewhere in case that whole president thing ever works out.

4. I know you’ve answered a similar question before, but it’s been awhile. Please name your current top 10 blogs.
I don’t read blogs very consistently because I keep forgetting to set up google reader.  So basically I only read blogs when they randomly pop into my mind or by clicking on blogs of others through blogs that I happen upon.  I am not an avid blogger or blog reader :-/.  However, the blogs that I probably read the most religiously are:

www.younghouselove.com (a blog that a couple started as a small thing when they were remodeling their kitchen that has become ridiculously popular and they post stuff about remodeling and decorating all the time which I LOVE!)
www.katherinewolf.info (started after Katherine, the spouse of a (now graduated) classmate of mine and friend, suffered a traumatic brain injury two years ago.  I have followed the blog pretty religiously since the day she was rushed to the hospital and underwent a 16 hour brain surgery with very low chance of survival.  Reading about the miracles she’s experienced as well as the difficulties along the path to her recovery as well as her faith through it all is amazing, beautiful, inspiring, and challenging.  Also her mom’s original blog www.katherineawolf.blogspot.com as well as her new blog www.kimarnoldblog.blogspot.com have some absolutely amazing posts from her mom’s perspective as her own faith has been challenged and world has been shaken through the experience.  I really hope she (Katherine’s mom) publishes some books.. I will definitely buy them and recommend them to friends!).  I know Katherine is writing books already about her experience… can’t wait to hear about those!)

5. Do you have a junk drawer?
Nope.  I don’t believe in keeping junk around, or in disorganization 😉

6. Bottled water or tap? 
Honestly I’ll drink either.  I suppose I’d prefer filtered (no need to waste water bottles), but honestly I have no problems drinking straight from the tap as long as I have ice cubes too. 

7. As a kid, did you have a favorite Biblical story?
I had several, but I would rather talk about a funny thing that happened when I was little that always pops into my head when people talk about kids and bible stories.  When I was 5ish we lived in Alaska and my brothers and I would take a church bus to a Baptist church in Anchorage.  One day we were in Bible class and the teacher was telling this story about when Jesus told Nehemiah that we have to be born again.  I was already really big for my age and aware of that, and I raised my hand and said something along the lines of, “how could I be born again? I’m way too big.”  Interestingly, I was a pretty smart 5 year old and I think I knew the answer and I was just trying to be funny. 

8. What is your favorite black and white movie? 
I don’t know if I could pick a favorite!  I used to think I hated black and white movies because they were “boring” back in the day…. but since college I’ve become a huge fan of romantic movies from the 30s-50s 🙂

9. Aside from your engagement/wedding rings, what is your favorite piece of jewelry that you own? Does it have a story behind it?
I have a necklace that has a gold chain with little orange balls (?) on it.  Very hard to explain but it used to be my mom’s and back when she first gave it to me with some other random jewelry I thought it was ugly but around college I fell in love with it and started wearing it frequently and I still do.  I’d wear it every day but it’s very unique looking and would be kind of weird to wear everyday.  I get compliments on it all the time.  It’s definitely in the top 5 things I’d try to save if there was a fire and I needed to evacuate.

10. What sports/activities do you hope your kids will be involved in? (Answer for both a boy and a girl) 
I currently am not heavily set on having children of my own so this is a difficult question.  I suppose I would let them decide whether they want to play sports or not and what they would like to play.  I didn’t play basketball because I didn’t want to, and now I regret it a little bit.  It would have been nice to have the team bonding experience and the free college ;-).   However, my older brother played basketball and I feel like he was kind of pressured into it because he was super tall and had talent, and it ultimately had detrimental effects on him.  I don’t want to force my kids to play sports just because they’ll be super tall and just because I missed out.  I hope to be aware of their wants and needs and respond accordingly.

5 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday.

  1. OK, it is just googling and we know how accurate the Internet *always* is but here is something on knuckle cracking from an MD

    http://www.providence.org/oregon/health_resource_centers/arthritis/askanexpert_arthritis_knuckles.htm

    On kids and sports. I wish I would have been involved in something. I probably would have been good at track because I run a lot now and bike everywhere. I was pretty withdrawn and shy as a kid and my parents never pushed, so I didn’t even try. It turns out I’m not too bad at distance running and love it.

    And black and white movies. Any old movie with one of the classic wonderful dancers!!!

    • Thanks for the link! And on the sports note, I guess if my kid was really shy and withdrawn I’d at least make them try a little bit to see if they like something.. because it would be a bummer to miss out on something just because they were too shy to try without a little prodding. But I think my older brother was pushed too much into basketball so I’d have to find a happy balance somewhere. 🙂

  2. Wow, you don’t have a chunk drawer? Not even one that comes close? I really envy you… Though I try to keep everything organised I never manage to get that junk drawer away…

    Late Happy Tuesday!

    • Well, it’s not a completely honest answer… I basically let junk pile up on my desk until I finally get sick of it and start throwing everything away that I don’t absolutely need, and then finding a proper home for everything else. 😉

      • One trick to live in a really tiny apartment and maybe have a really tiny desk:-) I was sharing 50 sq meters with another woman. There was no room for anything that wasn’t necessary. Now I have a place to myself and it is much larger at nearly 80 sq meters and the junk is starting to multiply everywhere.

Leave a Reply

