First Things First (Because You Can’t Have Second Things First, That Wouldn’t Make Sense, Now Would It?)

I AM GOING TO HOUSTON THIS WEEKEND!  Last night, I was talking to my BFF who moved back to Houston and spontaneously decided to buy a ticket to go visit her and her husband this coming weekend.  It was actually a long ordeal that involved catching up while both of us were simultaneously searching for good deals.  I finally found what I thought was the winner and while I was putting in my information, the ticket price jumped $90!  Even though $355 is technically still a pretty good deal for a last minute ticket to Houston, I couldn’t bring myself to be willing to pay that much when literally 2 minutes prior it had been $262.   So the trip was off and we got off the phone defeated, until I figured out a way to use my voucher from my failed trip to NYC.   So basically, I only paid $49 for my ticket and I’m headed to H-Town on Friday morning.  Woohoo!

Secondly, Ten on Tuesday:

1.  Think back a decade, do you remember what your first cellphone was? Was it as cool as Zack Morris’s phone?
Wow- it was almost exactly a decade when I got my first cell phone!  In high school, the cool thing was to have a pager.  I didn’t get a cellphone until I started driving (which was after high school because I graduated like a month after I turned 16).  I remember it was one of those big nokia ones where you could change the face.  I thought it was cool back then.  Well, cool until I got cell phone bills of several hundred dollars multiple times.. .OUCH.

2. What is the first children’s book you remember being read to you? 
These childrens Bible story books are the first thing that come to mind…

3. What was your first car? Did you love it or hate it? 
Technically my first car was a Ford Tempo, which had been my mom’s and I think she let me drive it when she got something else.  I actually really liked it but it didn’t last very long :/  My next car was an ’86 Honda Accord with the paint peeling off the hood, and a leaky sunroof.  But I paid $1400 for it and it was all MINE.  I loved that car.  I only kept it for about a year because it started having too many problems (mainly a fan that wouldn’t shut off so I had to jump my car every time I went out to drive it).  I upgraded to a ’97 Nissan 200sx.  But every time I would drive by an 80s accord I would miss my old car!  Now I have a 2008 Ford Edge which is SUPER nice, and I still drive by old Accords and miss mine.  You never forget your first love 😉

4. Who was your hero growing up?
Not to be all Christianese (I hate it when people say things just because it’s the “christian” thing to say), but I definitely considered Jesus my biggest hero growing up. 

5. Think back to your first kiss. Was it everything you dreamed of?
I am going to tell you about my first almost kiss.  Here’s the scene:  Ft. Richardson, Alaska, a nice summerish day in 1989, in an open field.  Me and my best friend at the time, a nerdy kid from my kindergarten class named Gabe, had somehow heard about french kissing, and decided we wanted to see what all the hype was about.  We agreed to both close our eyes, stick our tongues out, and lean in until our tongues touched (because that’s what we thought a french kiss was).   So there we were, eyes squeezed shut, leaning in… and just before our tongues touched we both opened our eyes, were completely grossed out about the idea, and agreed to never try that again.  I don’t think I figured out what a real french kiss was until I started watching the Young and the Restless in about 3rd grade when my mom thought I was watching 3-2-1 Contact 😉   (She figured out I wasn’t watching a kids show in the afternoons when I started telling her about some of the things that happened while she was braiding my hair.)  

6.  What was your first BAD hairstyle choice? (Extra points for embarrassing photos) 
Um…. I have had many, many, many bad hair experiences but I guess those are primarily related to cheap or free haircuts and not a concious choice to have awful hair.  I used to keep my hair pretty short, and I generally cringe when I see those photos.  But that could also be because I was thicker back then, a little more awkward, and hadn’t really discovered make up 😉

7. What was your first realistic dream? (One where you had to think “Oh dang, was that a dream?”)
I can’t remember which one was my first but I’ve had endless ones.  Recently, I had a dream that someone I know in real life asked me to elope with him (without ever officially dating), and I said yes and we randomly eloped over a weekend and then I went back to work on Monday like everything was normal.  I still feel awkward now when I talk to this person (I haven’t told him…). 

8. What was the first phobia you remember developing?
For whatever reason, I remember being really scared that an Indian chief was going to come in my room and shoot me with arrows in my sleep.  So I would push the mattress out and sleep in the crack between the mattress and the wall on a regular basis because I figured he wouldn’t see me if I was hidden back there.

9. Which character on Sesame Street do you most identify with?
Big Bird is the easy answer (and I’ve been called that); but lately cookie monster.  For some reason, when I get angry/cranky about something… I picture myself being blue and hairy like Cookie Monster and walking around waving my arms and saying “ANGRY” in a cookie monster voice.  I really don’t think it is a true reference to Cookie Monster, but that is what I see in my head. 

10. What was the hardest goal you ever accomplished? 
I’ve accomplished quite a lot of difficult goals…. but so far I think surviving December 2008 was the hardest.   In about a 10-day time span, I had to prepare and take 3 law school exams while dealing with an unexpected death (and I was hugely unprepared going into that 10 days), pack up two London flats, and get myself and 8 large and overweight bags back to the U.S. (navigating any airport let alone customs with that much baggage by yourself is AWFUL!), stopping first in Vegas to drop off most of the bags,  and then continuing on to Portland.  Of course, the London-Los Angeles plane lost one of the bags (one of only two that were mine and unfortunately the one that had all my shoes in it that weren’t packed in storage in Calabasas), and then my flight to Vegas was cancelled due to snow in Vegas (!!) so I had to get myself onto a shuttle with my 7 remaining bags and to a hotel for the night.  Then, once I got to Vegas, Portland was snowed in and I went to the airport 3 different times before I finally got a flight out on Christmas Day.  Then I got to Portland and we couldn’t get my mom’s car up the hill to her place because of the snow, so we went to a hotel for a couple of days.  INSANITY.  After times like that, I know I can handle pretty much anything 😉

2 thoughts on “First Things First (Because You Can’t Have Second Things First, That Wouldn’t Make Sense, Now Would It?)

Leave a Reply

