Moandays.

Mondays are a day when it’s apparently totally okay to be grumpy and depressed and generally melancholy about life.  “Ugg. It’s mooonday.  I have to wake up and go to work, agaaaain? Uggggggggg.”  Luckily for me, my work schedule is so random and crazy these days that I do not understand concepts like “Monday.”  I only understand the concepts of “omg I have way too much work to humanly accomplish today” or “omg I have absolutely nothing to do today.  What to do with all of this time?”  These concepts have no understanding of typical days of the week or typical hours within the day when they should occur.   The only thing that changes is that on weekends, whether working or not working, I get to wear jeans.

However, this Monday was a little more like a typical Monday because after 10 days out of the office, I had to come back to work today.  This morning, I struggled with several things that tend to really annoy me:

1) figuring out what to wear
2) fitting in a parking space at work
3) trying to get toilet paper out of those ridiculous toilet paper dispensers that already only use abrasive 1-ply toilet paper but also seem to want to make sure that I only use one tiny one-square piece of that cheapo toilet paper at a time.  Whenever this happens, I always have the temptation to yell at the dispenser, and I’m only stopped by realizing several of my coworkers are present in the bathroom as well.
4) grrrrrrr automatic sinks.  my office bathrooms do not have automatic sinks, but the ones at the airport yesterday did, and my frustration with the toilet paper dispenser this morning got me thinking of all-things-bathroom-related that I hate.

And as all of these things were running through my mind this morning I was all “omg moooondays.  I am going to write a blog about everything that annoys me.”

And then, as I got distracted and the day wore on, I started thinking that maybe a better idea would be to focus on some good things.  Maybe on these “Mo[a]ndays” where all I want to do is complain, I should think about some positive things.  (I am absolutely not one of those people that insists you always think positive and never talk about the reality of your situation or how you really feel, instead just spewing rainbows and unicorns wherever you go.  I think facing the facts now and then is healthy, and personally, finding humor in the things I hate about life is pretty therapeutic for me.  However, there are also proven benefits to focusing on the positive now and then.)

Today, I am just going to list some of my favorite things.  Some things that make me happy.  Because sometimes it’s good to think about things that make you happy, rather than things that are annoying.   Without further ado, a random list of some things I love.  It’s not exclusive, and not in any particular order:

  • Things that are navy blue, avocado or olive green, burnt orange, mustard yellow, grey, silver, gold, or white
  • Swiss cows
  • Exploring a new place (even if its random… like a tiny town in the middle of nowhere, USA)
  • Going to church
  • My grandparents
  • My iPhone
  • Fashion magazines (even though I’m not risky-fashionable)
  • Sunsets over the ocean
  • Chocolate Cake
  • Long drives on sunny days
  • Peanut Butter & Jelly Sandwiches
  • America’s Next Top Model marathons on Oxygen
  • Banana Republic sales
  • Talking, not arguing, about religious beliefs
  • My Mom
  • Giving money to charity
  • Hiking
  • Cute shoes in my size
  • Helping people in need
  • All things tall related (also… tall men ;))
  • That nightstand in that display window of an antique shop in Bowling Green, Kentucky.  (I still regret not buying it even though I’d have no way to get it home)
  • A lean cuisine with a glass of wine
  • Playing Skip-Bo with my mom and Grandparents
  • Trying new things
  • Taverna Tony’s in Malibu
  • Little kids when they are smiling and happy and cute.  (When they are crying I’m all “where is their parent?! I am never having babies!!!”)
  • DVR
  • The Columbia Gorge
  • ADR Cookies (which may be gone soon since our food service is switching over.. noooooo)
  • Pancakes at the perfect time
  • Cosmos and any type of food imaginable made by Krissi Looney
  • Writing
  • My Dad (he’s caused me quite a bit of heartache, but a good hug or an “I love you” always seems to melt the other stuff away)
  • Coffee with a good friend
  • Organizing
  • Deep, meaningful talks where you completely lose track of time
  • Reading a good book
  • Tight, snuggly, warm hugs
  • Catching up with an old friend
  • Joan’s on Third
  • Problem solving
  • Shopping and Pedicures with one of my good girl friends
  • Playing Settlers with my Dad & Leann (this is a new one) 🙂
  • Being snuggled by a pile of blankets in my bed and not having to wake up until I want to
  • Accomplishing goals I set out to accomplish
  • Walking places
  • Having many family and friends who love me ❤

That’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

