Things That Make Michelle Want to Punch You.

It is really windy in L.A. today, which is causing the building to periodically shake, which is literally and figuratively rattling the heck out of my already rattled nerves.  So I present to you, some complaints for the day:

1) Saying earthquakes are not a big deal.  When I freak out about an earthquake, people are always like “oh hunny you didn’t grow up in so cal, did you?”  No, I did not.  However, I have lived in Alaska, Oregon, and Washington throughout my childhood, and those are also earthquake states.  Alaska moreso than the others, but still.  I have had experiences with earthquakes throughout my life.   For some reason, native californians do not find the CATASTROPHIC earthquake in Haiti, or the 8.0 in Chile (not to mention all the 7.0+s that have been striking various ocean areas around the world lately)  to be much of a cause for concern at all.  They’re all “oh yeah, whatever, we have building codes.”  That attitude is what will likely cause a huge loss of life if a really big one ever did hit L.A.   Californians are so “used to” minor shakings its like the little boy who cried wolf.  It’s never the “big one,” therefore why bother being prepared?  And the thing is, whenever the shaking starts, there is just no way to know if it’s going to be a 4.0 or an 8.0.  And every shaker is a reminder that the looming threat of the “big one” is still out there.  (Btw, thanks a lot for bringing that up last night, Bill Nye the Science Guy.  What do you do these days, anyway?  Besides freaking out earthquake shaken non-native californians?!). 

2) People who ramble.  Get. to. the. point. already. 

3) People who cut off every conversation and turn every word into a story about themselves.  Now, I have been known to frequently turn something someone says into a story from my own experience, but I just have a lot of stories and I admit, I’m a talker.  But generally I at least let others finish a sentence or two.  Come on now.  I hate it when an entire hour passes and I have no idea what was even talked about because I’m pretty sure nobody else in the conversation ever got to complete a sentence.  Manners people!

4) People who do pretty much anything slow.  For whatever reason, I am incredibly, incredibly lacking in almost any form of patience.  I can’t stand slow talkers, slow walkers, slow drivers, slow decision makers.  It drives me nuts.  My skin crawls, I hear nails on chalkboards, I hear the most awful high pitched scream you’ve ever heard, I feel like I’m receiving a million tiny papercuts all at once.  It’s just unbearable to me.  Inefficiency is definitely my hugest pet peeve… and yet it exists all around.  All. The. Time.  It is like the mantra of humanity or something. Grrrrrrrrr.

Tomorrow, I will post something more positive 😉

6 thoughts on “Things That Make Michelle Want to Punch You.

  1. Earthquakes are definitely freaky. Did you see 2012? I kind of had to compare the craziness of the quake in LA in the movie to how many Haitians might have felt in Port-au-Prince when everything was falling down around them.

    I know the quake in 2012 was ridiculous, but I do think it’s rather comparable…I dunno. Maybe I’m crazy.

    • I haven’t seen the movie and won’t see it because it would freak me out too much 😦 Not because of the “2012” thing, but because of worst case scenarios. I’m already very good at imagining up worst case scenarios on my own, definitely don’t need visuals to keep me up at night! Too scary! 😦

  2. I’m sorry for my comment on building codes. If a truly monumental quake is directly under you they may not help much. Recently there was a piece in Science News talking about relative risks and people looked at the type of construction vs the likelihood of a big quake and Portland and Seattle do not do well compared to California – the building codes are much worse there. One of the worst places on the planet is Teheran, Iran.

    It is certainly wrong to ignore the risks. One of my reasons for moving to Denmark was that I get around on a bike and was terrified at doing it in NYC. I wanted to be in a place that de-emphasize s cars.

    You are in a line of work that should give you great mobility. If the quake areas bother you maybe you can move to a different area.

    • Oh no apologies necessary for your comment on building codes. My venting in this post was definitely not directed at you! The safer building codes in L.A. generally do give me quite a bit of comfort, although not complete comfort as many of the native Californians seem to have.

      Random question—Have you been to Amsterdam before? A lot of people ride bikes there but it kind of scared me with all the people, trains, and street cars roaming around all in the same spaces. Crazy! (But I loved the city!) Maybe it’s a lot safer there though because bike riding is so common people expect it and watch out for bikers more (versus the U.S.)?

      • whew..

        Amsterdam – I was there a few days ago and know the town well. Actually I had an amazing plaintain vegetarian lunch on Monday at a little restaurant run by immigrants from South America.

        Bikes are the way to get around. Cars are pretty much watching for you and you can predict the street cars. It is much better than riding in NYC:-) I like København better, but it is not the artistic city Amsterdam is. Biking is very good in both places, but the Danes focus on making bikes the primary transport mode.

        Here are a few video of biking and they are in the Winter.

        and there always the style blog

        http://www.copenhagencyclechic.com/

        I don’t think I’ve ever been on it though.

Leave a Reply

