Ten on Tuesday!

1.  If you could travel back in time, would you?  What decade would you visit?
As long as we’re just talking visit (lets face it, I’ve been completely spoiled by today’s technology and there is no way I could make it without computers, cars, washing machines, etc. ;)), I am trying to think of another answer, but I’m going to have to go with Chelsea’s: I’d go back to the time of Jesus’ ministry on earth.  It would be really cool to see it firsthand. 

2. What was your best Halloween costume?  (fun to make? most creative?)
I haven’t had many because we went through a long “Halloween is the Devil’s birthday and we’re not going to celebrate it” period, and then a long “Harvest Party! Yay lets dress like Bible Characters” period (I think I went as Delilah… lol), and then I just felt too old and silly to wear costumes (even though people my age still do).  However, I would love to be Neytiri this year (a blue navi from Avatar and I would like to walk around with a short, white man dressed normal as “Jake.”   I SEE YOU JAKE! I SEEEE YOU!).

3. Do you like your name?  If you weren’t called by your name, what would you want to be called?
I do like it, but there are about 18 million Michelles running around.  In one of my freshman PE classes, we had 8 Michelles.  EIGHT MICHELLES.   I have become very defensive of the name Michelle.  For example, I do not like Micheles.  (spelling error ladies?!).   I also take it a little personally when I meet a Michelle who is not a nice person.   I was about to say at least I’m the only Michelle [Last Name] but even that’s not true… there are at least 8 of us in the U.S.  However, while my name is so common, it still feels unique to me.  I guess because I’m such a unique person 😉  I wouldn’t want to change it. 

4. In the past year, what is the BEST recipe you made.  Please share it!
I have just recently started “cooking,” and I’ve relapsed in the last two months because I got crazy busy with work, and I’m currently back to my sandwich or lean cuisine cooked in the oven routine.  I don’t really have any creative recipes that I’ve made yet…. just basic salad and pasta dishes.  Maybe some day I’ll cook something more exciting….

5. Look around – what is the nearest object or picture hanging on the wall?
I’m sitting at my desk at work and a lot of things are equidistant to me.  Laptop, external keyboard/monitor/mouse, iPhone, security badge, lip gloss, lotion, Starbucks iced coffee, Starbucks sugar free chewing gum, magic meatball, pens, highlighters, sticky notes, etc. 

6. What was the last movie you saw in a theater?  Would you recommend it?
I think the last one I saw was Valentines Day with Heather.  I recommend it for a rental if you like feel-good, light, cute romantic comedy movies.

7. Did you go to summer camp?  Will you/do you send your kids to camp?
I don’t think I went to any summer overnight camps until I was in middle school, when we started going to a new church and we went to their youth camps.  They were usually just under a week, and then in high school I started going both to the youth camps, and to the “kids camps” as a counselor.  If I ever have children, I’ll definitely send them at least to the church camps if our church has them… maybe also to something more like Salute Your Shorts.  😉

8. What kind of ringtone do you have?
I have a few different standard iPhone ones set for different people (btw… the standard iPhone ringtone selections are very limited and disappointing!).  I also have the song “Little Boxes.”

9. Where is the farthest away from home you have ever been?
I can’t quite tell from looking at a map which European city I visited is furthest from the west coast of the U.S., but I’m going to say Amsterdam.  That was definitely one of the most surprising cities for me.  I went as part of a school trip, and I was expecting the city to be very drugs/sex focused which is totally not my thing.  However, that stuff is actually well confined to certain parts of the city, and I was surprised by how beautiful Amsterdam is!  We took a canal tour one of the days and I absolutely fell in love <3.  I would definitely go back if I had the chance. 

10. Has anyone ever written a song or a poem for or about you? 
Yes!  I have actually had several people write songs for me/about me.   Unfortunately none of the songs have been in the romantic sense 😉  but they were great songs nonetheless.  Some of my lifelong good friends, Juliana, Joni, and Jaamar, are in the group of people that have written fun songs for me/about me.  Also, Alexander wrote me a sweet poem for Valentines day one year.

8 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday!

    • Haha… not sure if that’s the actual name, but I got it in a Happy Meal from McDonalds a few weeks ago when I was stuck in 90hr/week work mode. You push a button and it says things like “The meatball says yes.” Sort of like a magic eight ball, but it speaks and it’s a meatball. 🙂

  1. Your views about Michelle’s reminds me of a friend that talked about the difference of kinds of people between Sarah and Sara. Apparently Sarah’s are bitches..(their words not mine)

    • Haha in my experience it’s been the other way around 😉 That’s why nobody with a common name should be a jerk because it ruins it for the rest!

  2. I feel the same way about Clare. In England there are 5865764866869695 people with my name, and growing up I had the same thing – at one point there were 5 kids named Clare/Claire in my class…which had maybe 30 kids total. For some reason in this country when I tell people my name (this primarily happens at Starbucks), they write it as Clair. UM WHAT?!

    I’m so glad someone else asked the Magic Meatball question, I was so confused. And now I want one. But not enough to go eat McDonalds.

    • Desperate times call for desparate measures when you’re trapped in the office for all hours of the day and night 😉

      I actually only know one other Clare/Claire (she’s a Claire) and she’s from England! 🙂

      • haha yeah that doesn’t surprise me. My mom was going to name me Sarah but it was in the top 5 names around when I was born, so she named me Clare which wasn’t even in the top 100. Then my parents moved to England, where every other girl of our generation is named Clare/Claire. Of course!

        I forgot to say it in my last comment but YOU FORGOT TO MENTION MY AMAZING POEMS. No love, Michelle, no love. 😉

        I think I’d feel super awkward if a guy wrote a song for me in any real, serious, romantic sense. Especially if he then sang it to me. Awkkkwarrrrd. I wouldn’t know where to look.

  3. cooking!

    I’m spending time doing it too. Since you’re tall I have a recommendation. In the US most countertops are at the same height, which is ok for an average height woman, but way too low if you are tall. There is a place that does custom height cutting boards. You can get them to match your height and you can spend time preparing food with no back pain. I have one and it is wonderful.

    Here is a blog of someone who is promoting these as a hobby (I know her). She tells you how to measure and has some videos which are pretty funny:-)

    http://www.6footsix.com/colleenify

    The neat thing is that if you’re as tall as me, and I think you are a bit taller, you can store stuff under them and don’t lose any counter space.

    I originally came here googling on information for the Martha Stewart tall show. I’m not that interested in tall although I have to deal with it, but I’m a huge fan of products that help out. There aren’t enough of them.

Leave a Reply

