Ten(eleven) on Tuesday.

1. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?
I just realized with this question that I cannot remember the last time I even had any ice cream.  Wow.   I’m a bigger fan of frozen yogurt or sorbet most of the time.  However, when I do want actual ice cream, it’s usually either mint chocolate chip, or some variation of “mocha almond fudge” Mmmmm.   Those two have competed for my faves in the ice cream department probably since middle school.  Mint goes better with my good friend Chocolate Cake. 

2. What is your earliest memory?
I have quite a few memories of living in washington which was like… ages 1-4?  I can’t remember which one was first, but I remember being on a ferry with the fam and posing for a picture when my younger brother was a baby (and he’s only 14 months younger than me so I couldn’t have been too old..).   I remember driving up this long windy road to our future new home at Ft. Lewis, and spinning in the middle of the floor of the empty house… until my dad yelled at me that I needed to sit still and stop “horsing around.”  (I had to be like 2 or 3 at that time.. good grief Dad!).  I also remember being very sad when my next door neighbor moved away, and subsequently “breaking in” to her house while she was gone.  I brought Kevin (little bro) with me and we sat in there playing cards.  The weird thing is that even though I was only maybe 3 years old, I remember kind of knowing it was wrong, but I missed my friend and technically the door I entered through was unlocked.  My poor mom was freaked out because she couldn’t find us.  And we were supposed to go to chuck e cheese that day but didn’t get to thanks to my little stunt.  There was another time Will (slightly older bro) and I ran off to the park without telling my mom that got her worried too.  I remember walking by this open garage door and this woman (who was a different race) was sitting there coloring someone’s hair and she told me and Will that we did not belong down there and needed to go home.  I remember feeling very awkward and uncomfortable.   So yeah, those are the memories of my time in Washington that jump immediately to mind.  I’m guessing the ferry thing was probably the earliest memory.  

3. What is your earliest memory of a dessert?
I remember how I used to climb up on the kitchen counters to sneak into the brown sugar.  LOVED eating clumps of brown sugar.  Must have been pretty young to need to climb up onto the counter, since I was 5′ when I was like 5.  Probably a slight exaggeration, but pretty close to accurrate!

4. Do you have any recurring dreams?
I do… but I can never really remember them when asked this question.  However, back when I was younger I had this recurring dream that I was laying in a crib and a person or two dressed all in black would come into my room and I thought they were going to kidnap me and I would try to scream but couldn’t scream.  And instead they just hovered over my bed saying “JIF! ….JIF!… JIF!..” and I saw the colorful letters from Jif peanut butter coming at me.   Now that I think about it… was it just a dream, or crazy Jif marketing ninjas breaking into my room at night?  I’ll never know…

5. Have you ever dreamed about dessert?
Yeah.. I tend to have mundane dreams about working, studying, or eating.  I’ve had some really good meals in my sleep.

6. What is one thing (aside from a cell phone or computer) that you cannot go the entire day without?
Oxygen is the most obvious answer; food is a close second.  I think as long as I have oxygen, food, my computer, and my cell phone I am good to go.  So I don’t really know what else to put here. 

7. What is one dessert you could go your entire life without ever having again?
First of all, oh my goodness Chelsea I 100% agree with you on all the desserts you can’t stand.  ie anything with raisins, lemony things, fruit tarts, bread pudding… amen! BLEH!  I originally saw these questions last night and was totally planning on saying “any lemon desserts” just to stick to one.  But all of those other things popped into my mind as well.  it is very rare for me to ever like a dessert that involves any form of fruit.  Unless it is just fresh fruit.  And then that’s not a dessert.  That’s just a snack.

8. If you could go on vacation tomorrow, where would you go? (Assume someone else is footing the bill, but within reason…so “the moon” won’t work)
At the moment, my strongest desires are to visit 4 places: Houston, Denver, Portland, and NYC.  NYC only because I have two nights at a hotel there that have to be used before May 13th or I lose them (and the $$ I paid), the other 3 because of friends/family that are there.  Ideas of a real vacation are secondary.   I actually have no desire to go to the other places I’m longing to go (Italy, Germany, Greece, Australia, New Zealand) until I get those first 4 taken care of.

9. If you could have any dessert tomorrow, what would you have (assume someone else is buying it for you. Within reason though, no “gold sprinkled ice cream cones.”)
Why is a gold sprinkled ice cream cone not realistic?  When I was in vegas recently, this coffee shop had a special gold sprinkled espresso drink that was “only” $24!   That’s not too crazy, right? 😉  That being said, I have no desire to ever spend ridiculous amounts of money on any food item just to have gold flakes on it.  Gold doesn’t taste good.  It’s just a way for people who only feel special because of their money to feel even more special because they are drinking gold.  No thank you.  And I would have a piece of that mint torte from Papa Haydns in Portland.  The person that bought me that dessert would also need to buy me a ticket to Portland so I could come enjoy it.

10.  What was your first impression of your significant other? If you’re single, what was your first impression of your best friend?
My last relationship recently ended, but my first impression of him was “wow, I really like his voice.”   I have several best friends, so I will list my initial impressions of a few of them.
Melissa [around 6th grade]- wow that girl is hyper!
Joni [college age]- when I first met her, she was a combo deal (Carmen + Joni) and for some reason even though Carmen and Joni do not actually look alike, for the first several weeks/months that I knew them, I could not remember which one was which (sorry ladies!).  But originally I hung out with Carmen more and somehow along the line Joni and I became BFFs 🙂  (I do actually know how, but it’s a long story for a simple question online).
Krissi [law school]- she was a combo deal too.  When I first met her, she was the wife of a fellow scholarship finalist at a weekend retreat for a prospective law school.  I thought they were a cute couple, and I really liked her.  We ended up not talking again until about 5 months later when we ran into each other at the grocery store in Malibu a few days before law school started.  And we were pretty much instantly California Best Friends.

11. What is your first impression of dessert pizza? (Personally, I think it’s weird. I love dessert but I don’t want any on my pizza.)
I don’t like the idea in general.  But I’ve had a few in my time and actually liked them.

One thought on “Ten(eleven) on Tuesday.

  1. you and Alexander broke up? I hope you’re doing ok…

    You and Chelsea are opposite dessert eaters from me, I love fruit desserts and hate chocolate ones! (and omg I love lemon stuff! but only if it doesn’t taste fake). I actually find that opposite dessert eaters are the best kind of friends to have, because it means you always get to order your own dessert, since neither of you can agree on one to share!

Leave a Reply

