Ten on Tuesday

1. Fill in the blank. Sometimes I wish my life was more ______.

Simple!  My life is a bit overwhelming/generally complicated lately.

2. How do you cure the hiccups?

I rarely get them.. usually only for a minute or two and by the time I try to figure out how to get rid of them it’s over.  I think maybe I try to drink lots of water or swallow a lot?  Not sure.
3. What are three of your favorite indulgences?

(1) Reality TV.  I think too much 98% of the time, and reality TV is such a nice break for my brain.

(2) Dessert–unfortunately I indulge in it pretty much every day.  I think I would lose 10 pounds pretty quick if I’d just limit dessert to 1 or 2 times per week… but that’s not happening anytime soon.

(3) Venting–I am generally a very nice, adaptable, forgiving, flexible, and nice person.   And I know there are verses in proverbs about not venting… but sometimes venting  about things that really frustrate me (even, or especially when, my feelings are unjustified) really helps me to either put my big girl panties on and deal with what is bothering me, or let it go and put a smile back on my face.   I generally limit my venting to my mom…. so at least I’m not venting to everyone?? 😉
4. Where is the most exotic place you would like to travel to? The most mundane?

I’m not a big fan of “exotic.”   I suppose if New Zealand/Australia counts… then those places.  Exotic makes me think of sexy beaches for some reason.  And when it comes to beaches, I’m more of a fan of quiet, pretty, secluded ones… generally involving still wearing normal clothes and taking a walk or reading a book.

Most mundane…. Sometimes when planning flights I purposefully pick flights with layovers in states I wouldn’t otherwise go to (like Kansas or Wisconsin ;)).

5. Does having your time planned out stress you or relax you?

Having a plan generally relaxes me.  Unless there are too many things on the schedule, which is STRESSFUL.  I like to have like 3-4 things planned and the rest of the time flexible.

6. What are your favourite fabrics to wear?

Cotton… the fabric of our lives.  Oooobviously.  Actually, I don’t really have a fabric preference.  It all depends on the cut, color, and style most of the time.   That being said, whenever I come home, within 5 minutes of walking in the door I’m in sweats… all cotton and cozy.   So I guess that’s my preference whenever I’m not out in public.
7. Do you sleep through the night?

Very rarely.  Usually I wake up and toss and turn a lot in my sleep.  Not nice for ever feeling really rested :/  However, for some reason I’ve discovered that when I sleep on the couch I tend to sleep more solidly.   So my body aches, but my brain gets adequate rest.  It’s a tradeoff I suppose.
8. When you were younger, what did you think you would be doing at this age? How close is that to what you are doing?

I thought I’d be married and probably have a kid or two by now.   I am happy I don’t have kids right now, and happy I didn’t get married as young as I thought people were supposed to get married.  I can’t remember where exactly I thought I’d be careerwise/locationwise… But I definitely did not think I’d be working at a big firm and living by myself in Los Angeles.  I’m not saying that’s bad or anything, just that it never crossed my mind as a possibility when I was younger.
9. What has surprised you most about growing up?

I STILL frequently have these silly moments where I’m like “Oh my goodness I’m an adult.. I am driving down the street right now by myself/buying this expensive thing by myself/leasing an apartment by myself/buying groceries by myself/paying a utility bill myself” etc.

The part that is really surprising about growing up is that you think you’ll have all this freedom to do whateeeever you want, and unfortunately with all of that “freedom” comes a lot of obligations and responsibilities.  Boo.

10. Are you good at keeping secrets?

Not really.  If I have a friend that comes to me in confidence and tells me something personal and sincerely asks me not to tell anyone, I am REALLY good at that.  However, if someone tells me anything juicy/exciting and tells me not to tell anyone, it is VERY hard for me to not give away with my face that I know something and/or accidentally let it slip.   In fact, I try so hard to not say anything I end up freaking out all the time wondering if I accidentally did say something and didn’t notice that I said something.   For a silly example, my brother and I bought my mom a notebook computer for Christmas, and the whole time I had it (before giving it to her) I was so afraid the whole time that I accidentally said something and my mom was just playing along pretending I didn’t ruin the surprise.  Moral of the story, don’t tell me fun surprises unless you want to risk me spilling the beans on accident 😉

One thought on “Ten on Tuesday

Leave a Reply

