Come on Mother Nature, Help a Tall Girl Out.

Currently, I’m sitting in my office in a really tall building, and my office is a lot closer to the clouds than I would like to be (I’m basically IN the clouds actually).   And that is because the thunder and lightening rocking and rolling right outside my window is freaking me out a bit.   Luckily, I don’t have to go outside in it because I drove today (the whopping 3.5 blocks) knowing that this afternoon thunderstorm was on its way.  I am one big sissy (literally and figuratively) when it comes to the rain.  I really, really, REALLY don’t like getting rained on.  Even sprinkled on.  And everyone is always like, “but you’re from Oregon, you’re used to this stuff!”   No, my friends.  Just because something used to happen on a fairly regular basis in my state of existence does not mean that I ever was, or 3.5 years later currently am, used it.  There are a lot of things that happen on a regular basis that I never get used to…. scalding hot water from my kitchen sink, thatjerkfacerobmarciano on CNN weather, and how nasty mashed potatoes are… just to name a few.  

That prior paragraph is a very long way of saying, “why is it raining in L.A.? It’s not supposed to rain so much here, I might as well move back to Portland!”

But the rain is not actually the reason I am posting.  I am posting because apparently Snowmaggedon Round 2 is hitting the “eastern seaboard” as they say, and that could cause some major complications for my trip to NYC tomorrow.  My plane ticket is expensive but reimburseable.  My hotelroom is expensive and nonrefundable.  The reason I’m going (to be in the audience on the special Martha Stewart tall show) is priceless and irreplacable.  This girl, who can’t stand a little bit of rain, is prepared to get snowed on and freezed on (?!) to be on this show!  Did I mention I don’t even own a proper coat or sweater for 18 degrees? I don’t even care!  I will get hypothermia before I will miss this show!

Please, please, please nature, United Airlines, and JFK, don’t let me down tomorrow!

10 thoughts on “Come on Mother Nature, Help a Tall Girl Out.

  1. Good luck! Are there going to be parties and meet-ups afterwards for those who come in late or just want to party together?

    If you get there you can take the AirTrain to the Howard Beach A train (I think – check on this!). The A will take you along the west side of Manhattan – where the studio is. You can easily get all over Manhattan using the subways, which might be a lot better than cabs if there is any snow on the ground. As the locals – they are a LOT friendlier than people make them out to be.

    • Sadly… Snowpacolypse won. But they are giving me a credit for my nonreimburseable hotel room to use it sometime in the next 3 months. So, assuming Martha doesn’t reschedule (in which case I’d use the hotel room for that), I will have to plan a trip sometime before May 10th just for fun! 🙂

  2. Ahhhh I haven’t been online much in the past few days, I’ve missed a lot!

    I’ll pray/keep my fingers crossed that you make it to the taping, that is so perfect for you!

    • I’m not going to make it 😦 Selfishly hoping it gets rescheduled though so I can still go. However, even if it does get rescheduled it would probably just be something like rescheduled to Friday… in which case I wouldn’t be able to go because the notice would be too short. I’ll definitely watch it though! And cry a little inside that I’m not there! 😉

  3. Sigh – this sucks for you.

    The weather will be good enough to have the show tomorrow and their production deadlines probably will have them tape even if they can only get a small studio audience.

    The Spring is wonderful in NY. Here is an idea – why not circulate the idea of a big tall person’s meet up in Manhattan at the most beautiful part of Spring. People could enjoy the parks and the city much better. I don’t know what the excuse could be, but if you wanted tv coverage, it should be easy to get from places like the Today Show.

    Shoot for a better time. Heck – you could probably get 100s in Southern California.

Leave a Reply

