Ten on Tuesday (aka technically thursday aka apparently I can’t just write a regular blog post anymore)

1. What accomplishment are you most proud of?
This is a toughy because I am proud of many different things for different reasons.  I guess for the sake of brevity, and sort of to state the obvious, I will say that I am very proud of my education (my bachelor’s degree and my juris doctorate).  No one else in my family (even extended family) has graduated from college, and it took a lot of hard work and determination to make it through the past eight years (I took a year off between college and law school).   Not to mention, I paid for it all myself (with a little “help” from Uncle Sam in the form of federal loans.   My loans are way less than the average person after 7 years of college/law school… but the interest is still enough to make me want to barf and wish I’d eaten a little more Ramen and a little less Macaroni Grill and Taverna Tony all those years ;)).

2. How much did you weigh when you were born?
Nine pounds four ounces if I remember correctly (is that right, Mom?).   However, I’ve known big babies who ended up tiny people when fully grown, so my massive weight at birth was not necessarily indicative of my massive size now 😉

3. What is your favorite perfume?
I don’t have a sense of smell, so I can’t legitimately answer this question.   However, I still wear perfume.  Most often Clinique Happy or Burberry Brit.   I like the Clinique Happy one the most, because I like the name.. .and I tend to get compliments on smelling good when I wear it, moreso than with the Burberry one.

4. How many siblings do you have?
Two brothers–one older and one younger (and our heights go in order of our age.. it’s funny).  The younger one is married so I also have a sister-in-law.  And my dad is remarried so I also have two step sisters, also one older and one younger.   I am always the middle child 🙂

5. How many children would you like to have? (Or how many do you have?)
Currently my answer is ZERO.  But word on the street is that some day if I ever get married, my “biological clock” might start ticking and I may suddenly want to be woken up at all hours by a crying, pooping machine 😉  I think my nieces and nephew (and my step nephews) are absolutely adorable, but I really prefer the role of Auntie and not Mommy.

6. What’s the best class you took in college?
I have large gaps in my memory when it comes to recalling details from most of my life pre-law school (so sad!).  However, I had this one political science professor in undergrad, Professor Lawrence, who I LOVED!  I took every class from her I could.   The way she taught her classes was fantastic, the subject matter was always really interesting, and I always got to write really cool papers.  (I wish I still had them but my college laptop died and I  never seem  to learn that lesson about backing things up.)   For example, the class that popped into my mind first was a class I took on Polling and Public Opinion.  And basically we learned all about how the way questions are asked drastically impacts what the  “Public Opinion” is on an issue.  If I remember correctly, I wrote my paper for that class on human cloning.  And in my research, I found that based on the particular word choice in the way I asked the question, whether the majority of people favored or disfavored human cloning changed a lot.    Really makes you question whenever a study says “65% of people think/feel/believe XYZ.”   Take a look at how those questions were asked, my friends.

7. What was your favorite game to play when you were a child?
I guess when I was really little, I loved Candyland for a bit.  But unfortunately I was a little too clever and quickly realized that while Candyland carried a bit of nostalgia, there was no strategy involved AT ALL.  So I got over that pretty quick (maybe age 3? ok maybe not that quick but you get the idea).   I was also a big fan of Sorry! and Life, although I began to lose interest in those games due to them not containing enough strategy for me either.  Also liked Monopoly but it takes too long, and I am impatient.   The games that have stuck with me through the years though, that I still really enjoy, are:

Skip-bo, Rack-o, Rummy, Solitaire, Scrabble, Boggle.  So basically, card games or word games.  Those are games I started playing as a kid and still love as a “Grown Up.”

8. What character on Friends are you most like?
My impulse is to say Chandler, but mainly because of that whole thing where he makes the same face in every photo and can’t help it?  Totally me.

9. Are you a phone person? (ie: Do you like talking on the phone?)
Not currently.   I don’t know why, but I go through phases.  Back in middle school/high school/college I was a big fan of talking on the phone for all hours of the night with girl and guy friends.  Then somewhere along the way in late college I started burning out on talking on the phone.   Now, for the most part I rarely have much of a desire to talk on the phone.  But I randomly get in chatty moods and I’ll talk on the phone for awhile.  Usually just to my mom though, and sometimes Joni, and lately on occassion even my Dad.  I would say I maaaaybe have one conversation on the phone per week that is not a quick call.

10. What was the best vacation you ever took?
I can’t lie, definitely the 4+ months in Europe were AMAZING! Of my weekend trips while there, my favorites are a tie between Ireland and Switzerland.  My two trips to Paris tie for 3rd place.   I’ve also had some very fun trips in the U.S. with friends and fam.  I have very fond memories of two trips to San Antonio, and two trips to Houston (separate times), and the time we drove from Oregon-MN when moving my younger bro to ND.

2 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday (aka technically thursday aka apparently I can’t just write a regular blog post anymore)

Leave a Reply

