Looking for a Needle in a Haystack and the Haystack Won.

That was my day today.  It has been LONG and EXHAUSTING.

That’s what they don’t show you on law firm shows.  How you spend 8 hours looking for a case that you are sure has to exist somewhere and it just doesn’t exist.    I’m not complaining, I’m bummed.  I really wanted to find something, and its hard not to feel like you’re doing something wrong when it seems like there has to be a case on an issue.  4 calls to Lexis and 8 hours of searching later, no cigar.   It crossed my mind today that it would be really cool if I could ask God for a pincite.  As great as our search technology is, it is still not all knowing.   It would be nice to have something that could tell me “yes, the case is definitely there, keep trying.”  Instead at some point, you just have to give up because there is a chance that needle is hiding under the very last straw… but you just don’t have time to dig THAT far.

Wow… I need to go to bed.

Leave a Reply

