Welcome to the years of feast or famine.

I can’t believe it’s already been a week since my last post.  My long absence is due to the fact that I’ve practically been running non-stop since my last post.   I got a new pro bono matter recently that was set for trial incredibly soon, and I was also out of town Thursday-Sunday for a work retreat in Coronado, CA.

The work retreat was amazing!  We stayed at the Hotel Del Coronado, which is apparently in a list of 1001 things to do before you die (stay there? visit there? I am not sure, I just heard a rumor).   It is a really beautiful place though.   I carpooled down with three coworkers, and had my own room with an amazing ocean view.  I seriously was only in that room to sleep though, and I didn’t sleep much (maybe 4 hours per night?).   Hence why I didn’t have any time to attempt to get online for really any reason.   Although, quick story, one afternoon I decided to take a nap, and I left my patio door open to hear the ocean breeze.  The thought had crossed my mind that a bird theoretically could come in the room with the door open but I thought, Oh the birds would never do that. Luckily, a bird did not come in my room, BUT a seagull did land on the railing right outside my door and proceed to sit there staring at me while I slowly, so as not to startle the bird, walked toward the door and slowly slid it shut.   The whole time I was terrified the bird was going to dive bomb me and attack me.   He continued to sit on the railing just staring at me for awhile.  I have some pics on my iPhone I’ll have to try to upload later!

As for work, I met with a new client on Thursday morning before leaving for the retreat.  I spent monday reviewing a bunch of documents over the holiday, and then Tuesday morning I had a training session until lunch.  I came back from lunch to the notice of the trial being set less than two weeks away.  Ahhh!   I’m really wishing I didn’t sell back my trial practice book right about now.  But who knew I’d be running a trial so early in my career??  It’s a really small matter, but still.  A week from Monday, I could be in court putting on a trial and cross-examining witnesses.  Crazy, huh?

And regarding the training… It was presentation skills training.  For some reason I was losing my voice (probably lack of sleep over the weekend) and they videotaped us giving faux presentations to partners.  Not my favorite thing to have to watch.   I also attempted to avoid what I consider to be nonsensical hand motions (something I’ve had a problem with in the past), only to create even more nonsensical/distracting hand motions.   Luckily, when I stopped trying to not make crazy hand motions, my hand motions were totally fine.  I guess I have overcome my uncontrollable hand motions… at least when I am not trying to control them.   If that makes sense.

Another plus?  I have frequently been critiqued for talking too fast in the past, but I didn’t have a problem with that at all during the training.  Hopefully this will all come in handy a week from Monday 😉

Leave a Reply

