Ten on Tuesday

Wow.  I totally intended on posting over the weekend, because I had some exciting adventures planned.  Two of the exciting things actually happened until my weekend of fun came crashing down late Saturday night, and I spent the next two days in bed (and on couch) sleeping those two days of my life away.  The details of my sickness aren’t really public blog material, but I am mostly fine now (aside from what I like to refer to as a “sleep hangover”.  So much sleep in the past few days that I feel hazy and confused from so much sleep, and oddly still tired.  Sleeping a lot is a lot of work!). 

Anyway, I’ll try to catch up on my weekend adventures prior to sickness in another post, but for now it’s another set of questions from Roots and Rings.

1. Are you usually late, early, or right on time?
I’m usually early.  I try to time myself to be fashionably late sometimes and even then I end up being right on time.  It’s lonely standing around alone, waiting for everyone else to show up because very few people in the world know how to ever be on time for anything, but it’s kind of a blessing and a curse of mine that I am unable to be late to things. 

2. What is your middle name?
Kay

3. What are the last 4 digits of your cell phone number?
2159

4. How big is your bed?
It’s only a queen.  But during my first two years of law school I had the blessing of a king in the fully furnished room I rented and I LOOOOOVED it.  The queen bed I’m using now isn’t actually mine… when I decide to buy a bed, I’m going to go for a King for sure, assuming I can get up the elevator to my apartment 🙂

5. What are you allergic to?
Used to be strawberries but lately I’ve eaten some here and there and have been fine (is that possible?!).  I also break out if I sit/lay directly in grass, swell up ridiculously if I get bitten by mosquitos, and get crazy itchy if someone does my laundry and uses fabric softener.  It’s unfortunate, because I appreciate the idea of softer clothes, but my skin apparently does not.

6. What is the first thing you do in the morning?
Look at the clock and decide whether I want to get up.  The beauty of my current situation (ie that I live 3 blocks from my office, and I currently don’t have a lot of work to do) is that I don’t have to set an alarm and I can just wake up naturally and go into work when I feel like it.   That being said, I naturally wake up around 7ish, so I’m usually in the office by 9 anyway (after taking my sweet time to shower, eat breakfast, watch the news, check things online, etc.).   A lot of people don’t come in until after 10am, but I just can’t seem to get myself to do that.  I’m a morning person.

7. What was your favorite TV show growing up?
This is a tough one.   Back when I was in grade school, I LOVED the show 3-2-1 Contact.  So my mom would let me go watch it up in her room, and one day I switched the channel and happened upon The Young and The Restless.  I had no idea what was really going on because I was like 8 at the time, but somehow it intrigued me so I started watching that show instead.   Then one day my mom was braiding my hair and I was talking about something that happened on the show, and she realized the story line I was recounting was not something from 3-2-1 Contact.  Busted!   On the Soap Opera note, I ended up pretty obsessed with Days of Our Lives throughout middle school.  I could even make a chart diagraming how all of the characters were interconnected.  I also loved family shows (full house, step by step, the nanny, family matters, home improvement, etc.).   Although, I have to admit that I had a secret hate for family shows, because everytime *I* got upset, twinkly music didn’t start playing and my 1-3 fathers didn’t come running after me to teach me the moral of the story and tell me it was all going to be ok.  Oh, and back to being young and in grade school… Salute Your Shorts and Legends of the Hidden Temple!

8. Will you, or did you, go to your 10 year high school reunion?
My 10 year reunion will be this year (2010).  Holy Cow!  Probably not going, because I graduated early and I barely knew anyone in my class.   I might figure out if there is a way to go with a friend to the 2011 reunion instead, where I’m bound to know more people. 

9. If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there to hear it, does it still make a sound?
I don’t get this question.  I mean, I do get it (if nobody hears it, is it still a sound?), I just hear it all the time and I don’t get the point of asking it.  Yes, it does still make a sound.  Does it really matter since nobody heard the sound?  Probably not.  (Wow, I apologize for my general crankiness lately.  I think I should stop posting these things before my coffee has kicked in!) 

10. What, in your opinion, is the greatest invention? (You know, since sliced bread…)
Ooooo this is a tough one.  My favorite invention that I own is probably my iPhone.  I know, I know, I sense eyerolls as I say that, but it is AMAZING!  The internet, GPS, and various applications have saved me on countless occassions.  I love it.  Otherwise, I loooove ice makers (I have one of those too), water purifiers built into fridge doors (don’t have one of those… sad), zip lock bags, remote controls, and garbage chutes.  Probably countless other inventions would rank up there at the top (it’s so hard to choose just one) but those are the ones that come immediately to mind.  Random, I know 😉

3 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday

  1. You will probably hate me, but sound is a construct of the brain. When a tree falls it radiates acoustic energy, but technically there is no sound until the brain creates it.

    science rocks

    The funny thing is I’m mostly deaf, so sound is something I need to pay attention to… I can’t use it as a phone, but my iphone is amazing

Leave a Reply

