Ten on Tuesday

Yesterday, I woke up at 5:15am in Vegas and was sitting at my desk in downtown Los Angeles just before 9:00am.   Crazy, right?  What was REALLY crazy was the fact that I waited for 30 minutes in a ridiculously slow moving starbucks line, gave up waiting because my plane was about to board and  I was not about to lose my A-26 space I paid an extra $10 for, and then I spent the flight regretting passing up that coffee because an hour long conversation about cats behind me (the length of the flight) made me literally want to gouge my ears out.   But I survived that conversation, and I survived a death-defying cab ride home.   And that’s a good thing, because I can participate in the Ten on Tuesday questions, even though this week’s questions are cooking based and I am no cook 😦

1. Are there any movies that inspire you to bake/cook?
Julie & Julia for sure.  That’s the only one I can think of for now, although I know there have been others.

2. What’s your favorite food blog and why?
I am actually out of the whole food blog loop.  Perhaps I need to find one!  Actually, I’ve been thinking for awhile about searching out some vegetarian/vegan cooking blogs, but just haven’t got around to it yet 🙂

3. Who’s your favorite celebrity chef?
I don’t actually have a “favorite”, but I do have a not-favorite: Sandra Lee.  Ugggg she drives me insane.   Ladies, we must all save prep time on the food by making it semi-homemade, so that we have enough time to coordinate our outfits and kitchen decor, and create elaborate table displays. She doesn’t technically say that, but the message is pretty clear 😉

4. What’s your favorite kitchen tool?
Oh… Hmm… Once upon a time I would say microwave (lol), but now I have an aversion to using microwaves for anything so my pretty built in thermador one sits unsused.  I really like my orange strainer???

5. When it comes to cooking/baking, what’s your specialty?
I don’t have a specialty.  I’m actually just starting to get around to cooking more often at the young age of 25 😉  Prior to recently where I have started making a lot more meals myself (but I admit it, very simple meals), I was pretty good at making salads 😉   And I say that partly as a joke and partly as truth.  My salads were delicious! 🙂

6. When in the kitchen, do you wear an apron, if so, any cute ones you’d like to share?
I don’t own any cute aprons, but my friend (and roommate for awhile)  Krissi does.  She is an awesome cook, and usually I just let her do her thing but the last few times I was with her I offered to help and she gave me a cute apron to wear 🙂   (Her and her husband are back in Texas now.  Sad for me :()

7. Is there anything that intimidates you when it comes to baking/cooking? (ex. Pie crust, yeast breads, sauces, etc…)
Um, is “all of it” an acceptable answer?  I overanalyze recipes to death, and I’m always, always afraid I’m going to totally screw it up.  It makes cooking a less joyful and more stressful experience for me.  But I’m trying to overcome, because I can only make these simple-can’t-possibly-screw-up meals for so long.

8. What’s the weirdest gadget in your kitchen?
I have this egg cooker thing and I have no idea how to use it (and wouldn’t anyway because I’ve been avoiding meat, and minimizing my dairy).  But, it’s stainless steel so it looks really cute on this cart I have in my kitchen with other stainless steal kitchen stuff 🙂

9. What’s your go-to music for cooking/baking?
When I’m cooking by myself (home alone), I usually will just have whatever I was watching on TV before cooking on.   But sometimes when I’ve cooked with others we put music on.  It varies depending on our moods.

10. After several failures, what do you do to motivate yourself to get back in the kitchen to try again?
Luckily, I haven’t really failed yet, but I also haven’t really tried.   The motivation I need is to actually get in the kitchen and TRY things.  And by try I mean things besides pasta, rice, and vegan “meats” 😉  I would like to try cooking some things with tofu, and baking some vegan cookies 🙂

6 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday

  1. Check out Kyla Roma – http://www.kylaroma.com/. She’s a vegetarian turning vegan. She may have some good resources on her blog.

    I used to hate Sandra Lee until I saw her “chefography” – pretty interesting life. And I must say, I like a lot of her recipes… even if they are super easy.

    It’s not the end of the world if you screw up a recipe. Hasn’t Julia Child taught you anything??? That’s how you learn! Just give it a shot!!

    • Ooo thanks for the recommendation!!

      I actually do like SL’s recipes, and am a HUGE fan of semi-homemade things in general (that’s basically all I cook!), I just can’t stand how her kitchen decor changes every episode, and her outfit always matches the new decor, and then she sets up those elaborate displays. I’m sure its just meant to be cute and add a little something extra to the show (what is she going to do this week??), but part of me also thinks it puts way too much pressure on women who feel pressure to be perfect, over the top suzie homemakers. I am interested to read her chefography now though!

  2. I used to be so scared of cooking that I would literally have meltdowns (like Julie Powell!). Then I started dating my my bf Stephen, who is a chef, and he changed my entire perspective of cooking. I almost…enjoy it now! 🙂

    • Oooo chef boyfriend! I always wanted to marry a chef! …But mainly so I wouldn’t have to cook 😉 Haha. I think I’m coming around though… I need to get some cook books and get reading some cooking blogs and hopefully that will encourage me to get in the kitchen! 🙂

  3. hahaha your SL “impersonation” cracked me up! I can’t really stand her either. She’s like “little miss perfect” and I can’t stand that. I don’t ever have it all together…and I like people with a little flaws, like me 😉

    • Haha! Exactly! Fortunately (or unfortunately) I’ve never personally felt the pressure to be perfect (aside from paper writing for school because I am a nerd), but I know many women that practically give them ulcers straining to be the perfect, super woman. They don’t need any encouragement from cooking shows that are supposedly supposed to make their lives easier! Me? I’m a 6’4″ female and I’m a bit clumsy, and I have a slight delay in recognizing social cues which causes me to say and do embarrassing things on a pretty regular basis 🙂

Leave a Reply

