Ten on Tuesday (4)

First, I would like to mention that I wrote a whole post last night about my weekend, and then for some reason I felt really weird about it and I went back and put it on private.  I’m having a bit of an internal struggle trying to figure out what is appropriate for me to post and what isn’t, given that I am a “professional” now and given that people from work might find my blog.  I feel like I have to be super mature now, and go to the Orchestra like I did on Sunday night and enjoy it solely for the music now, not also for the ugly sweater parties (if you’ve been to an orchestra, you know what I mean.  If you wear such attire to the orchestra, my apologies ;)).

I know I’m supposed to still Be Myself.  But it’s a complicated balance and I’m working on it.  Like Saturday night at my work Christmas party when I was discussing my tendency to snort when I laugh, but that I’m trying to get it under control in professional situations, and then proceeded to snort laugh right in front of one of our partners in charge.   It looked like his smile was endearing and not “omg why did we hire this girl???”    Let’s hope for my job security that it was the former.

Anyway,  I definitely plan to remain a genuine person, but at the same time I’m aware that people at work or clients could somehow discover this blog and somehow discover that it’s really me, and I just have to be aware of that possibility, but also not let it completely stifle me outside of work…. it’s a delicate balance, lol.   So we’ll see how this goes in the future.

For now, enough of that.   It’s time for another round of “Ten on Tuesday” questions from Roots and Rings.

1. If you could change anything about your physical appearance, what would it be?
I would probably make my feet a little smaller so I’d have more shoe options!  Wearing a women’s size 14 really cramps my shoe style.   Literally and figuratively.

2. Is there a habit in others that you find annoying?
People who are always late annoy me.  Even if they are not late just to meet me but if it is like a group event or meeting or something and they always walk in late.  Or like in law school there were certain people that would always come late every single day.    I feel a little hall monitor inside of me wanting to go be like “Hey, idiot, obviously if you have been late every day of the semester so far you are not leaving your house soon enough in the mornings.  You need to leave earlier and be on time and stop interrupting the rest of us because you suck at time management (and/or just don’t care about anyone but yourself.)”   See, it really annoys me.  Hahaha.   Another annoyance is people who have something negative to say about pretty much everything.  Such a downer.

3. What is your favorite recipe using ground beef?
Uh…. I don’t eat meat anymore so this doesn’t exactly apply… And I’ve also never been a big ground beef girl…. but I do/did love making manicotti with ground turkey! 🙂

4. What was your favorite book as a kid?
I’m not sure if I had one.  As far as I know, I was never one of those kids that wanted the same book read to me/to read the same book over and over.  Once I read one thing I wanted something new to read.  I was REALLY into Nancy Drew books for awhile though.  I’m pretty sure I’ve read every single one.  ❤

5. Did you work as a teenager and if so, where?
I think I started babysitting in middle school to earn spending money for myself.  Then I continued babysitting a lot through high school, particularly in the summers.   But I didn’t have a “real job” outside of babysitting until I graduated high school.  But I graduated high school shortly after turning 16 so I was still super young.   My first “real job” was working in child care at a gym with my aunt.  Then I got a seasonal job at GAP Kids  to get more hours than the gym, and while I was at Gap Kids I landed a receptionist job at a place called Disabled American Veterans which is an organization that helps veterans with their claims for benefits to the Veterans Administration.   I worked there for a while, and then moved out of town for school and worked at Meier & Frank (now Macys) in the juniors department at the mall in the closest nearby town that had a mall.  Then I moved back to Portland and got a job at a law firm as an office clerk.  I’m pretty sure I still a teenager at that point (19?).   Oh, and somewhere in there I also worked as an orientation leader the first summer after college.   Wow, a lot of jobs as a teenager for me!

(it was ROUGH tracking down all that information when I had to apply for the bar!)

6.  Did you work while in college and if so, where?
See above for part of it (I took a year off after high school and then started college at 17 so for my first three years of college I was still technically a teenager).  I stayed at that office clerk job at the law firm (20-30 hours per week all through college) until I quit in July 2006 to move down to Malibu, California  to start law school 🙂

7. When you go to sleep do you like  total darkness or semi? When you go to sleep do you need quiet or is some noise ok?
I used to prefer complete darkness and complete silence.  But I’ve had this weird problem for a few years now that sometimes I half-wake up in the middle of the night and I will think someone is hovering over me and I scream out, and the scream wakes me up completely and I realize nobody is there and I feel like an idiot and it takes me forever to fall back asleep and my heart is pounding.  So now, I just leave my blinds open while I’m sleeping to let in enough light so that if I wake up in the middle of the night I can tell that nobody is hovering over me and I won’t freak out.  I’m not afraid of the dark,  I’m just afraid of my half asleep hallucinations that sometimes occur in the dark 😉

8. When doing laundry, fabric softener or not?
For some reason fabric softeners tend to make me break out and get all itchy so I don’t use them.  It’s weird.

9. Open toed or closed toed shoes?
Closed if I’m wearing shoes, but I wore flipflops almost every day through lawschool.  Yay Malibu California yearround 70s and sunshine! 🙂

10. Would you rather be blind or deaf?
I am already missing one of my senses (smell) so I don’t think it’s fair to ask me to give up another one!   But if I had to, I’d give up hearing because sight brings me way more enjoyment in life than hearing.   I would hate to lose being able to travel and see all the beautiful new sights around me, being able to take pictures, being able to do artsy things… etc.

11. Dangle or stud earrings?
My ears aren’t pierced.  Weird, huh?

12. Bottled water or tap?
I’m generally a tap water girl.  Although taking it directly from the faucet myself seems weird.  So I’ll just drink it from a brita filter or drink it from water bottles if people have them available before I’ll take a glass and put it under the faucet myself.  But if someone else goes into a kitchen and gets me water from the faucet, apparently it doesn’t bother me.  But ALWAYS with ice if it’s tap water.  I like it cold, cold, cold.

13. What do you put on pancakes?
Never butter.  I know I’m weird, but I’m not a fan of clumps of butter on top of things (although of course I am a fan of butter cooked in things because it tastes soooo gooood even though its sooooo baaaad).   I usually just have syrup.   I also don’t like butter on toast.   I like jam or peanut butter.  Something about the reality of a big clump of fatty lard just resting on top of my food just doesn’t work for me.   But if it’s all cooked in the food and I can’t tell, I don’t seem to mind 😉

14. On a long trip would you rather drive or fly?
It depends.  I’m a fan of roadtrips (I’ve driven OR-MN, OR-CA, CA-TX, OR-CO, OR-CANADA, NM-CO-TX, TN-KY, you get the idea).   But there is also something to be said for flying which gets you far away places in a short amount of time!   When the flying trip is easy (ie no major hassles at security, no turbulence on the plane, no screaming kids), I prefer flying hands down for long distances.  But it’s so rare to get that perfect flying experience.  And, there are really pretty things to see on the road.  (If you are my facebook friend, check out some of my 120+ photo albums for some roadtripping pictures from recent years!)

15. Do you prefer classic old movies or new?
I like both.  I watch a lot of movies from the 50s and 60s on a regular basis, maybe even some 40s thrown in there? (those count as classic old movies right?).  But I also like a lot of new movies too.  It depends on my mood 🙂

4 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday (4)

  1. Oh my gosh. You are nuts. I like butter on EVERYTHING. I like butter on butter.

    Size 14? Wowza!

    I agree about the privacy thing. It’s a fine line to figure out what is blog appropriate. I stay away from work related topics incase coworkers happen to find my blog. Hopefully they neverdo though- that’s just weird.

    • Hahaha butter on butter = awesome. I used to feel that way about Ranch dressing and/or honey mustard, but somewhere along the way I burned out on it 😦

      And size 14… definitely wowza. I used to be a 13 but I think wearing flipflops every day for 3 years flattened out my feet. People say “but you need big feet for balance” but I know people close to my height with much smaller feet. I don’t prefer freakishly small feet… but down a size or two would be nice 🙂

  2. I too am a hater of my shoe/foot size! I’m 5’3 with a size 9 foot. I realize the size isn’t really odd, but most people my height wear like a 7…which I might too, if I cut off all my toes, but then where would I be?! 😛

    I like my water really cold too, but did you know that room temp/hot water is supposed to be better for you? I actually learned that when I worked with a Chinese lady…she always drank hot water and when I asked why, she told me. I assume she has to be right since she was about 30 lbs lighter than me and is a mom to 2 children! (I still drink cool/cold water)

    • I’ve heard that thing about the water too.. I think it’s true! Also still drinking the ice cold water despite that knowledge though… haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

