Ten on Tuesday (2)

1. What was the last concert you’ve been to?

When I lived in London last fall I was invited to go with a group to see “The Swell Season” at Royal Albert Hall.   I think the tickets were something like 20 or 30 pounds each (expensive in USD!), but I agreed to pay for one because I thought it was going to be a fun, festive Christmas concert.  Turns out it wasn’t Christmas music at all… my bad for never hearing of that band before!   But the show was great, and I actually LOVED one of the opening groups, Colm Mac Con Iomaire.

2. Is it easy to make you cry?

Unfortunately yes.   I like to perceive myself as a strong person, but I also happen to be a crier.  I mean, I wouldn’t define myself as a “cry baby” but several things do make me cry a lot.  First, for whatever reason I’m very empathetic (is that the right one?)  so if something really sad happens to someone else, I sort of “feel their pain” and it will bring me to tears as if it had happened to myself.   (This is of course different from when I don’t think someone’s tears/upsetness are justified.  In such an instance I tend to be coldhearted and think the person needs to suck it up).

I also will cry if I get super tired and frustrated, and there are a few random personal issues that when brought up will bring me to tears pretty instantly.

3. Do you ever feel like people underestimate you?

I definitely do.  The fact that people underestimate me is probably why I’ve accomplished so much already.   I have a sort of “haha I’ll show you!” motivation.

I also feel like a bit of an underdog now because although my law school is a great school, all but 2 or 3 of the 45 people I’m starting with went to top law schools.  I don’t know that anyone does look down on me at the firm for that reason, but I do have the urge to be the best and make my school proud 😉

4. Name 7 completely random things that you like:

– ziplock bags
– those tostitos “hint of lime” chips.. I rediscovered them and I think I ate half a bag last night :/
– ponies
– cheese flavored things (although I’m minimizing my cheese these days)
– the sound of crinkly leaves being rustled in the wind
– burts bees chapstick
– my blackberry that I’ll be getting today

5. What’s your favorite reality TV show and why?

The one I watch the most is America’s Next Top Model (if I catch the marathons on Oxygen, I watch it all day even if I’ve seen the season 5 times already).  I don’t know for sure why it is my favorite but I have an addiction.  All through law school it got me through finals.  When I was in London and didn’t have TV, I bought two seasons online so I could watch them.   I kind of love the drama, but mostly love seeing the random crazy pictures they have  to take each week and how much make up and photo editing makes the girls look so different!   I recently got my mom addicted too 🙂

6. What is your favorite hair care product?

I have been lazy with my hair for months now and havent really used any products.  I’ll get back to you on this one 😉

7. What’s your favorite song at the moment?

This is really, really horrible, but I’m just going to go ahead and admit it to you.  There is this song by a band called the “Smoke Jumpers” or “Jump Smokers” or something called “Don’t Be a Douchebag”  and it cracks me up everytime I hear it.  And it randomly plays in my head on a regular basis.

Aside from that I don’t really have a fave at the moment.  When I’m in my car lately I listen to a mix CD that my cousin made me that has a variety of bands mostly similar to and including Owl City.  When I’m home, I usually put Pandora on either “Tenth Avenue North” Radio or “Michael Buble (Holiday)” radio 🙂   So not really listening to one song over and over right now, although I do go through those phases.

8. What’s the number one thing on your Christmas wishlist?

My number one wish is that my brother will come like he says he’s going to.  I haven’t been with either of my brothers for Christmas for the last 4 straight christmases, and my older brother who lives in so cal too is supposed to drive over to my place for Christmas Eve and my mom is going to fly out.  I really, really hope it happens!


9. Have you ever lost your cell phone?

Only temporarily I think.  I may break phones on a regular basis, but I don’t lose them!


10. Did you attack the hordes of shoppers for Black Friday?

I was very, very tempted.  But I didn’t go out.  However I did go to Target on Saturday morning and there weren’t crowds at all and they still had a lot of really good deals!  I bought a 6′ fake christmas tree for $25 and Baby Mama on DVD for $3.99.  LOL.

6 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday (2)

    • Ooo that sounds yummy! I went for the total flavor over-explosion of eating the chips with salsa. I ate the whole bag in 3 night by myself and it was a big bag. YIKES.

    • I wanted to buy more for stocking stuffers and stuff but I keep spending money that I don’t have (since I just started my job on Monday…) so I held back. Such awesome deals though!

  1. A tree for $25? Ooo, I’m jealous. I have to buy a tree this year, and didn’t even consider Black Friday to be a viable option. I’ll probably end up paying three times that much.

    I love the ANTM marathons on Oxygen. I rarely watch the show when it’s on normally but I do watch those on a lot of weekends. I’m with you, I love to see the pictures.

    • I was so excited they still had the deal on Saturday! I was going to go out on black friday just for the deal but couldn’t bring myself to brave the crowds. Saturday was no problem!

      If you’re interested in getting a fake tree.. maybe you could get a real one for this year and then get a killer deal on a fake one the day after Christmas? I kind of wish I had a bigger tree. I suppose 6′ is pretty big but I have 12′ ceilings so it doesn’t feel quite tall enough to me. Oh well! It was still a great deal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

