Ten on Tuesday (1)

NOTE: I keep trying to fix the spacing and wordpress keeps ignoring me.. so… I apologize for the lengthy unspaced paragraphs and questions.  I’ve tried 4 times now and nothing helps 😦
1. When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?
I had a WIDE array of things I wanted to be.  I wanted to be a writer, a saxophone player, a truck driver (how awesome would it be to get to travel everywhere and get paid to do it and have a bed with you no matter where you are?), an artist, a teacher, a senator (due to this random Gordon Smith commercial with a girl on a swingset)… actually I remember at one point thinking “you know, technically I don’t have to choose.. I could be all of these things.” However, because I liked to argue and could almost always convince people I was right, my mom and grandparents always told me I should be a lawyer. I liked the show Matlock, even as a little kid so I thought “sure ok!”  … and then I found out it took SEVEN YEARS OF COLLEGE to become a lawyer and decided I would rather be a clothing designer for tall chicks (true story- I started college as a business major).
Well,  after my first semester of business classes I decided (1) I hate business classes; and (2) overall college is not so bad.  So I switched to Poli Sci and Communication (in case I wanted to be a Senator someday still), and was on my path to law school.   Just graduated from law school in May! 😉   I’m sure my parents are elated that I did not become a truck driver.
2. Name 3 of your irrational fears.
Oh my gosh this is a bad question to ask me.  I could name a billion irrational fears.   Technically, my biggest fears are things that HAVE HAPPENED, it’s just that the events are so rare.  I don’t fear common things happening to me, I fear the extreme stuff.  Here are my top 3-
(1) getting snipered while I walk down the street (once in London I randomly thought about this and suddenly panicked realizing I had no idea what to do in London in the case of an emergency and imagined myself sitting there bleeding to death on the street.  At that point Alexander and the Looneys had already left London so I didn’t even know what friends to call. Crazy, I know).
(2) the big one (earthquake)  hitting while I’m at work. My 2L summer we had a 5-point-something hit like 20 miles away and it still made my office on the 52nd floor in downtown L.A. shake so bad I thought maybe it was the big one and vowed not to take the job if I made it out alive.  Fortunately, I was overracting and everything was fine.  And I still took the job… good idea?  I start Monday on floor 50.   (Apparently the building is meant to withstand up to a 7.0 but after that the top of the building snaps off.  That is not very comforting).
(3) a helicopter crashing into my apartment or office (the apartment is a lot lower than 50 floors, but I see helicopters, planes, and blimps flying really low over here all the time, and if the sound is loud enough I stand there paralyzed like a deer in headlights waiting to make sure its not going to crash into my building)).

3. If you had a $200 gift card to any store, what would you want it to be? (Nothing responsible allowed. Can’t be used for groceries or anything)
Right now I would want it to be somewhere that sells christmas decorations because I REALLY want to decorate for Christmas but I have to wait until I get a paycheck which won’t be until 12/14 booooo 😦   I might try to buy a few things sooner.
4. What is your most (blog-friendly) embarrassing moment?
I embarrass myself on a daily basis, and I’ve learned that embarrasing moments make funny stories which helps me deal with it a little 🙂   The instance that popped in my head (definitely not my most embarrassing moment but its burned in my brain for some reason) is when I was on a field trip in second grade, and I was holding a baby chick on my lap and I felt something warm on my leg.  I lifted up the chick and it had like diarrhea pooped on my leg!  I remember my face turning bright red and my eyes tearing up as I was (nervously) laughing.   OH, and once in high school I accidentally pulled down my pants in the library.    I’ll just throw that out there too.   Oh, and when I lived in Tennessee, one of the little boys I lived with had hung a scooby doo towel out of the grill of my car (apparently to dry from the pool) and I didn’t see it before leaving.  My whole way to work people were flashing me and motioning at me and I had no idea what they were talking about.  Who cares if my lights aren’t on? It’s DAYLIGHT. I got to work and went inside and shortly thereafter my boss came in.  “Michelle,  are you aware there is a scooby towel hanging on the front of your car?”   Oh man, embarrassing.
5. If you were only allowed to eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
My answers to this in the past have been “chicken” or “chocolate cake.”  I have since given up eating chicken, and while I do love chocolate cake I think as I’m getting older my ability to metabolize it isn’t what it used to be.  Not going to be able to live off that for every meal!  Probably pizza or pita bread ❤   Or chips and salsa.  Except I managed to buy some chips last week that made “chips and salsa” disgusting and I haven’t bothered to go buy new chips yet because I’m still grossed out.  Ugg.
6. What was your favorite toy growing up?
I was a big fan of barbies.  But my parents wouldn’t let me have a Ken so I would make Barbie date my brothers’ G.I. Joes.  How little did I know back then that the Barbie to G.I. Joe ratio would be the story of my life.

7. Do you have a “go to” outfit? What is it?
I think my go-to outfit right now is probably skinny jeans with my brown boots, some kind of top, some kind of sweater, and this BR necklace I bought that has a wooden key on it and a few other random dangly things.   As for the sweater, it is usually either this yellow sweater I recently bought at Urban Outfitters, or a long grey one I bought at Banana Republic around the same time.   I paid full price for the yellow sweater (I think it was $45?) and I felt guilty about it at first but I have seriously worn that thing multiple times per week.  Definitely worth the money.
8. Who was the best teacher you ever had?
Hmm… I will tell you who is NOT the best teacher I ever had.  My second grade teacher (grr why is your name escaping me? probably because traumatized me wanted to block you out!) OH! Ms. Gayle!  Ha! I do remember your name!   Anyway,  I remember her as a crusher of dreams which is a bad role for a second grade teacher.  One time we had an assignment to write a one page story that we were going to put on big butterflies for open house.   I wrote two pages.  And you know what she did? She wrinkled it up and threw it away because I “didn’t follow directions.”   Ever heard of tape or a staple lady?   Also,  I went to Kindergarten and 1st Grade in Alaska on a military base so by the time I was in Public School in Portland for 2nd Grade I was actually ahead of the kids in my class.  I had already learned a little bit of cursive, and Ms. Gayle also threw away one of my papers for doing cursive Ys. 😦   So mean!!!  Not to mention she always yelled at me and I’m pretty sure it’s her fault I developed a problem of talking way to loud for the rest of grade school/middle school/part of high school.
As for good teachers, my4th/5th Grade teacher Ms. Dakkuk was the first one to recognize that even though I looked like a dirty poor kid, I was actually a SMART dirty poor kid and she was responsible for me basically doing 4th and 5th grade in one year.  I was never in the Talented and Gifted group in grade school because apparently only the rich kids (or even just middle class kids) get noticed for that.   She also brought in some hand me down clothes for me (in 5th grade I was already the size of an adult woman.  sad).
Also, my english teacher in high school was the first one to encourage me about my height.  She made me stay after class and she was like “Michelle, you are a beautiful girl.  Why do you slouch all the time.  You need to stand tall and be confident in who you are.”  I love her for that 🙂  I wish I could remember her name so I could track her down and tell her how much it meant to me!
Lastly, as for non-school teachers,  the pastor of the youth group I was on staff with back in Portland, Pastor Jason, taught me a lot during my high school and college years and his advice has helped me through many of my biggest trials.
9. If you could buy any car right now (something at least SORT OF within the realm of reality…so, you know, a Rolls Royce may not qualify), what would it be?
I actually just bought a brand new car back in December.. it’s a Ford Edge.  I love it 🙂   However, the car that I tend to lust after the most, and am ashamed of myself for it, is the Range Rover 😦
10. How do you reckon that Chelsea comes up with 10 of these questions every week? It was hard! What’s your theory on how she’s so creative? Are you going to help her?
I have no idea.  If I had to come up with 10 questions every week I would probably keep asking the same ones all the time.  Lol.  “You just asked that same question as #4.  This is only question #5.”   I could probably try to think up questions but I’m new to this thing and I might end up repeating questions that were already asked.    I really liked these ones though so good job creator!  (As you can tell by the novel I wrote for each answer).
7 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday (1)

  1. 2)(1) I’m assuming you don’t live in the DC area. Most people who do, and were here during the sniper time, have this fear as well- we just don’t call it irrational since it didn’t occur until we had a reason to be frightened. To this day, if I am at a gas station near a roadway I will always, always sit in my car while the gas it pumping. I feel too much like a target if I stand next to the pump.

    7) That sounds like a really cute outfit! 🙂

    • Yeah I don’t live in DC (l.a. girl here) but that’s definitely what gave me the fear :(. It seems to pop into my head on a regular basis when I’m in open spaces. Scary :/

      thanks for the comment! 🙂

  2. Your second grade teach should lose her job!

    Your irrational fears are quite irrational! Reading all of these is making me paranoid!

    • I’m sorry!! I try really hard to keep all my irrational fears to myself because it turns out a lot of the things I secretly freak out about normal people never even think about. So it’s better for everyone if I just keep my freaky fears to myself! Lol

  3. Hah your irrational fears answer reminds me of my thought pattern this morning…as I was getting ready for work, it dawned on me that I’m typically the only one working in my building. I started worrying that some “bad guy” could come in and hurt me and I woudln’t know the emergency number to call. I got really paranoid about going to work today.

    Your truck/Scooby Doo story = awesome.

    I cannot believe your 2nd grade teacher. I’m sorry she was such a bully. (Also, I didn’t know you lived in Alaksa for awhile – neat!)

    • When I’m alone in the building I think the same thing! 😮

      Also, sometimes I even forget I lived there because it was so long ago now (ages 3-7). But it’s definitely a cool place to live as a kid (snow forts and whatnot). Not the coolest place to live as an adult because all the snow and the limited daylight in the winter cause a lot of cabin fever I hear. Luckily I didn’t have to experience that part!

      • Hey, at least we can be irrational together…however, I prefer to call it smart 🙂

        As for the cabin fever, I can imagine it would get pretty bad. Right now the sun comes up around 8 AM and sets around 4:15 PM and that’s depressing enough for me. We’re not nearly as far north as Alaska, so eesh!

Leave a Reply

