A Little Civil Procedure (Heaven to Earth Style).

I woke up this morning SUPER cranky.  I was tempted to leave a pouty face plastered on all day.  Is it ok at 25 years old to still pout and/or have a temper tantrum? Lol.

One thing I try to keep in mind that always keeps me in check.. is that as much as I do not enjoy studying for the bar all day every day since May 26th, I have so much to be thankful for.  It’s really selfish and honestly pitiful for me to complain.  I’ve got my own bed to sleep in, a safe, clean apartment with clean running water and AC, a closet full of clothes, a new car in the parking lot with a tank full of gas, money in the bank… That alone makes my life way easier/better than most people in the world.  But it’s really easy to get caught up in our own circumstances and not see what else is out there.

On a related side note, I’ve been thinking a lot about clean water wells and schools in 3rd world countries.  I’m excited to get the bar over with so I can research that stuff more, and plan out my budget so I can find my ways to help.

But the point of this post is that this morning, as I pulled out my Constitutional Law and Civil Procedure materials to begin another day of studying, I read a friend’s status message on facebook which said something along the lines of “In honor of Civ Pro study day, God’s long arm statute: Isaiah 59:1.”  I looked it up:

“Surely the arm of the LORD is not too short to save,
nor his ear too dull to hear.”

It melted away my bad attitude 🙂

For reference, a “long arm statutes” are statutes states have which detail the ways a local court in the state can exercise jurisdiction (hear a case) over a foreign defendant (a person/corporation who doesn’t live in the state).  Not nearly as exciting as Isaiah 59:1 😉

Leave a Reply

