My So Called Barbri Life… Almost Over!

The bar exam starts one week from tomorrow!! AHH!!

Scary, but then it will finally be over and I can move on 🙂  I would like to have a bonfire where I burn all these blue books, but I get money back if I return them, and I like money.  (As a topic for another day, Barbri is an evil monopoly.  It’s really “the only game in town” and yet after decades of being around its still so imperfect, and they charge way more than they should.  However, I can’t imagine trying to do this without a course at all, so I have had to suck it up and deal with it. )

In the last several weeks I’ve mostly just been continuing my insane amount of studying for the bar.  But I have had a few exciting little breaks.

On the 4th, Alexander and I drove down to San Clemente for a BBQ at his friend’s family’s beach house.  We went down early and strolled around San Clemente for awhile and got crepes at this cute, delicious little cafe right across from the pier.   That night, we watched two fireworks shows from the back deck.   Ocean in front, San Clemente fireworks to the left, Dana Point fireworks to the right.  Amazing!

Also, recently there was a fire really close to my apartment.  During my second year of law school, a fire burned through the neighborhood I lived in, and I ended up “homeless” during finals and then spending the following semester in a temporary house.   So now, when a fire was so close again, I was a little freaked out.  I stood on my patio watching it for awhile until I realized they were getting it put out and I wasn’t in danger.   Still, I count this as something exciting because it mixes up the boring studying 😉

And the last thing I wanted to bring up was that the same day as the fire, Alexander and I both finally received printed copies of our articles that were selected for publication (in different journals) last year.  Selected for publication last year, printed in an issue this year.  So, I am now officially a published author 🙂

Now, for something silly.  There are many websites and fan groups these days involving “LOL cats” which basically consists of pictures of people’s cats with funny captions.   Well, someone made a group for Bar Exam LOL Cats, and the other night I was practically crying I was laughing so hard.  They are only funny if you’re studying for the bar, or a law student, so it makes me feel extra nerdy but I don’t care.  Here is one of the pictures:

As an explanation, the BarBri property teacher is a woman named Paula Franzese who teaches property by connecting rules to generally outdated pop culture references and songs (no offense to Paula, I enjoyed her, the outdatedness made it more amusing).

Anyway, there is a property right called an “easement,”  and to have what is called “an easement appurtenant” there has to be two pieces of land involved.  (One parcel gets the right to cross over the land of the other parcel, for example,  to get access to a road).  So she would sing in class “It takes two babe-ey, to make an easement appurtenaaaant.”   This is to contracts with an easement in gross where there is only one piece of land involved.  And that silly song has been stuck in my head all summer thanks to her, and then I saw this picture.  Perfect!

4 thoughts on “My So Called Barbri Life… Almost Over!

  1. Good luck on the bar! I have been thinking about you and all your studying the past few days, and I hope it all pays off for you 🙂

    And thanks for the explanation on the cat photo deal. I wouldn’t have gotten it without that, but with your explanation, it was pretty funny!

  2. So, I’m almost ashamed to admit that I just googled Paula Franzese after watching a barbri property introduction video and thinking she was quite attractive and adorably dorky. It was clearly an older video because the barbri logo on the podium was some older variation. Apparently, she sings even more on the full property lecture (for new york i assume), but I had a different person for the full Michigan property lecture. Anyway, the cat picture made me laugh. I take the February 2011 bar exam in Michigan, so I’m studying away. Congrats on your career and good luck!

    • Haha thanks for the comment! I actually get a LOT of blog hits from people searching for her which is really funny to me. Her songs still stick in my head 🙂 I had her for Property for the California bar. Best of luck on the exam in Michigan!

  3. Pingback: Friday List.. Because That is What the Cool Kids Do. « The Daily Chelle

Leave a Reply

