A little bit lighter note.

A fellow recent graduate had this great idea of instituting the “love rule”  in order to combat the temptation to be short tempered during bar study due to conscious and subconscious stress.  Basically, each week you live out part of the Love Rule (1 Corinthians 13).  This week is “Love is Patient, Love is Kind.”  So, we’re supposed to try to live that out in whatever way we can.  I think I’m going to try to do this plan, as a partial answer to my previous post.

In related news.. .the bar exam.  It is so consuming!  I wake up, do multiple choice questions, go to class for 3-4 hours, come home, do more questions, review outlines, do essays… repeat.  So far we have only covered two subjects in depth: real property and torts.  Real property was my lowest grade first semester of 1L, and my second lowest grade second semester.  The lowest grade that semester? Torts!

There are certain types of multiple choice questions with property that I just ALWAYS get wrong.  I was so relieved to go on to a new subject because I thought “I can make up for sucking at property with succeeding in another area.”  My first two practice sets with torts I did extremely well on.  Then the next two… I’ve been missing close to half.  Again, like property, there are just certain questions I can’t seem to get right.  It’s not a matter of studying or not knowing the law.  I can’t figure it out.  It’s soooo frustrating! Is it barbri? Is it me?  Today, I proceeded to (I know, real mature Michelle) start crying after I got a bunch of the same type of torts questions wrong again, and fell asleep for a few hours.  I feel so retarded.  Usually I can figure out what I’m doing wrong and I can’t seem to do it here.  Very frustrating. 

A couple interesting notes: studying torts always makes me start seeing liability everywhere.  Think of visualing yellow signs popping up everywhere (liability!); or to use a sports analogy.. those playbacks where they draw circles on the screen.   That’s what I visualize as I go about my day .. lol.  Also, I have dreams filled with all kinds of unlawful activity, and the characters are always aptly named with names starting with Ps (plaintiffs) or Ds (defendants).

One thought on “A little bit lighter note.

  1. *Hugs* Sorry that things are overwhelming and stressful. I feel ya. Believe me. I know I’m not studying to take the bar, but I was just telling John today that I think this is the most stress I’ve ever had to deal with.

    Also, your dream about liabilities made me smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

