The Light At The End, Or So We Thought…

Before I started college, I had thought about being a lawyer many times but the idea of going to school for SEVEN YEARS seemed way too daunting.  One of my other interests at the time was clothing design: I really wanted to start a business that made fashionable clothes for tall women.  So, with that in mind, I started undergrad as a business major.

One semester in, I realized college was not so bad, and decided I could probably make it seven years if I changed my major.  I’m not a big fan of numbers, so taking accounting and financing classes would have bored me to death and probably made me drop out.  So I switched to political science, because another one of my interests for the future was to be involved in politics.

I made it.  I survived 4 years of undergraduate education and graduated with a B.A. in Political Science and a minor in Communication in 2005.   I was worn out so I took a year off, but by November or December I was already wishing I had just went straight through, especially when January rolled around and I received my first acceptance to law school.  I was ready to go, go, go.  But I had to wait.

Here I am, 3 years later, and only 4 more class sessions, and 3 exams stand between me and my Juris Doctorate.  Quite honestly, I really thought I’d have it all together by now.  I really thought I’d know where I want to live, what I want to do, where I’m going… I don’t regret my law degree one bit, I’m just not as sure at the end about what I’m going to do with it as I was when it first began burning in my heart to go to law school.  Not just law school, but my experiences outside of law school over the past three years have changed my perspective a bit.  Now, I wait.

I graduate May 22nd.  My bar class starts May 26th.  I take the bar July 28-30.  After that, all is wide open until at least Mid-November which is when I’m currently set to start my job.  I can’t afford to live in L.A. until I start working, so who knows what I will do in between.  There are a lot of uncertainties even when my job starts that I can’t really express here on a public blog, but the point is: I have reached the goal I’ve had in sight for all these years.  It has always been the end I’ve aimed for and now that I’m here I realize… It’s not the end.  It’s just the beginning.

Leave a Reply

