First Trial.

In my quest to actually update this thing between traveling adventures to keep this thing active for when I do have exciting adventures, I am writing a post and it is (unfortunately) not related to travel at all.

Yesterday I had my first trial.  It wasn’t a “real” trial, it was for my trial practice class.  But we were given a case file with documents and facts and witness depositions and then we put on a full 3 hour trial before 12 jurors, a judge, and a court reporter.  My partner and I (the defense) won on all three causes of action.  We were able to “cheat” and listen in on the jury’s deliberations, and technically on 2 of the 3 causes of action they didn’t really apply the correct standard, but that’s how it happens in real life too.  Juries tend to go with their gut feelings on whether someone has been wronged or not.  The funny thing about being a law student is that the legal standards make so much sense to us now that it seems like everyone should understand terms like “preponderance” and “reasonable.”  However, that is just not the case for the average population.  And I don’t mean that to say the average population is stupid, they just haven’t been trained in the language of lawyers like we have.  Jessica and I totally didn’t expect to win.  The way the jury instructions were written for each of the claims we were pretty sure we would lose on at least 2 of the 3.  The other side also thought they couldn’t win.  Interesting how that happens because usually it goes the other way.  You get so invested in your facts and your case that you think of course you’re going to win and the other side has nothing.  You get so stuck on your own side that you can’t even see any argument going the other way anymore.  That can actually be a bad thing, but it happens.  Anyway, it was just really interesting that we both thought we had the losing side of the case.

After the trial, we went out for a celebratory dinner (for being done with trial practice, not for winning).  I got the worst panic attack/possibly heartburn of my life!  It was so weird! I was sitting there drinking water and all of a sudden my chest started burning a little and feeling like there was a little pressure and then it started hurting really bad.  There was so much pressure and pain in my chest I felt like I could barely breathe.  I tried to drink more water, tried to go outside and get fresh air, and nothing would help. Then I started getting a little freaked out that it was so bad and I was like “what are the symptoms for heart attack?”  Pain in the chest? Check! Feelings of nausea? check!  Shooting pain down the arms? No.  Based on no pain in my arms, I decided I was not having a heart attack, despite how bad the pain was.  Luckily, after about 10-15 minutes the pain subsided.

Then I came home from the dinner and had a really bad encounter with my complete jerk of a neighbor.  He lives below us and from the very beginning we’ve had so many problems with him.  I’m constantly kept awake by the TV in his bedroom (his is right below mine), Adam and Krissi are always woken up by him screaming at his two sons (they can hear word for word it’s so loud), and our living room floor VIBRATES when they watch movies during the day. UGG.  We’ve complained several times, but most of the time we just let it go.   Lets just say, I strongly, strongly dislike this guy.  So last night, Alexander was dropping me off, and his car was blocking the parking space of the jerk neighbor while I got out of the car (there is no other place to stop).  So the neighbor turns the corner and IMMEDIATELY lays on the horn and starts flashing his lights.  I looked over the car and yelled “Calm down! He’s just dropping me off!”  and then Alexander pulled away and the man yelled “don’t wave at me. I’m not your friend.”  And I yelled back “I wasn’t waving at you.  I was telling you to freaking calm down.”  I was sooo mad.  After how much he inconveniences us every single day, he has the nerve to be that big of a jerk over one little thing?  Even if he had never done anything else to us that would be unacceptable behavior, but it made it so much worse to be on top of everything else.  I was very tempted to go back down to his apartment and tell him off, but I didn’t.  And then, the pain in my chest came back.  Ugg.   So I decided to go to sleep at 9:30pm and hope to be better in the morning.

In completely unrelated news, I find it pretty crazy that I had a text message for “CNN BREAKING NEWS” this morning to say that Ashton Kutcher was the first person to reach 1 Million Followers on Twitter.  Breaking News? Seriously, CNN?

I feel like I should say something positive now after all of this negativity…. Despite how excited I am that I am almost done with law school (what a huge, long coming accomplishment!), and how ready I am to not sit in classes anymore, I really am going to miss Pepperdine’s campus and this easy schedule.  I am so lucky to have been able to go to school in a beautiful beach town paradise these past three years.  On days like today where it is sunny and beautiful outside, I’m starting to feel that little nostalgic tug and kind of wishing it wasn’t all ending so quickly.

3 thoughts on “First Trial.

  1. Congrats on your trial! I’m sorry about the heart burn/panic attack thing. Something like that happened to me freshman year in high school and it was not fun.

    I’m also sorry about your neighbor. That was really rude of him, and I’m sorry he’s so inconsiderate. When our downstairs neighbors are in town, we can hear them arguing and stomping around their apartment. It’s it bizarre how loud people can be?!

  2. When I was writing that entry I vaguely remembered reading about you having a loud downstairs neighbor before. It seems like it should be the most difficult to hear someone through the floor, rather than from the apartment right through walls… but we’ve never heard the people in those two other apartments. Crazy!

    Luckily I just have a little over a month to continue putting up with this guy!

  3. Yeah, except for one time when our next door neighbor was really really upset, we haven’t heard any other neighbors either.

    Yay for just one more month!

Leave a Reply

