New York, Neewwwww YORK!

I just got back last night from a whirlwind trip to New York City- My first ever either to the State of New York or to any of the North East portion of the United States for that matter.

Over the next couple of days I plan to recap my trip, including photos. In the meantime, a little street smarts warning for any friends who may be planning to visit the city:

When you get to the airport, do NOT take anything but a yellow cab. People will wait near the spot where the yellow cabs are and ask if you need a cab and you’ll think you’re getting a yellow cab. If they start leading you to something different, turn them down and go get a yellow cab. Don’t listen to anything they say!

Yellow cabs from JFK to any location in Manhattan are a $45 flat rate (+ tip). However, I wasn’t aware of this black cab rule, was led astray to a black cab, and was charged $78 (+ a request for tip) for the same trip šŸ˜¦ I am STILL kicking myself over that. Not only for getting in the cab, but for not complaining at that outrageous fare, and still giving him a regular tip after he totally ripped me off.

On a side note though, the driver was actually a very nice old guy from Brooklyn that supposedly used to be 50s doo wap (?) band, and he gave me all kinds of good information about New York City on the drive. So I’m trying to convince myself that this conversation was worth the extra $30 I ended up paying šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

