Autumn in Hyde Park.

It is a BEAUTIFUL day in London today.  This morning, as always, I walked through Hyde Park on the way to classes, and the sun is out, the sky is blue, and fall is in “full bloom.”  This morning as I walked down the path there was a layer of mist/fog hovering over the grass, the sun was peaking through the leaves on the trees, the leaves have begun changing colors and falling… and there were runners running and squirrels gathering acorns and furiously burying them (and occasionally dogs chasing the squirrels up the trees).   And then, as I was thinking about what a beautiful morning it was and how amazing the park is in the fall, a swan flew by me on its way to the lake!

I. Love. Fall.  I’ve been deprived of the full beauty of my favorite season while I’ve lived in Malibu.  Fall = hot wind in Malibu, not cool crisp air and changing leaves.  Fall is not really a much loved season by many people in Oregon because it’s a reminder that our long lost friend–the Sun–who we have only been reunited with since mid-June–is leaving us again soon.  However, it has always been my favorite season.  I just love the crisp air and changing leaves… wearing scarves and sweaters, drinking hot chai lattes, cozying up on the couch with soup and a blanket and reading a book or watching one of my favorite movies… I LOVE IT!  Of course, in London I do not have a couch or a TV, but I can sit on my bed looking out my little window into the garden and that’s a suitable substitute 🙂

I’ve also always loved Fall because its the start of a new year of school (and I’m a huge nerd).  It’s also very symbolic of changing times.  I’ve been through some rough seasons, and although for many people Spring seems to be the most symbolic of something new, to me its fall.  The sign of change, the hope of something new in the air… is so electrifying! I don’t need the new thing to be here to get excited, the fact that I know it’s coming is enough.  The leaves are changing.  The times are changing.  One chapter is closing, and a new one is around the corner.  I always think of the verses in Ecclesiastes (there is a time for everything) and in Psalms (though sorrow may last for the night, joy comes in the morning).  Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing sorrowful about this current phase of my life.  I’m living in London, traveling nearly every weekend, getting to see things and do things I never imagined when I was younger.  But every year when fall time rolls around, whether I’m currently in a good season of my life or a bad one, I think about all the changes and how far I’ve come, and I get excited about more change and more new things in the future.  Anyway, I don’t know where I was going with this, but all that random rambling can be summed up as:  Fall = Amazing.

In other news, tomorrow I am leaving for Switzerland.  Alexander will be heading to Germany to visit his dad who is there for a few weeks, so I’m going with Adam & Krissi to Interlaken.  I just bought a ticket YESTERDAY.  I’ll be gone Friday-Tuesday, and then I’ll be back a few days and my friend Becky is coming to town and we are going to Paris for the weekend! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Autumn in Hyde Park.

  1. I’ve always wanted to go to Interlaken! It’s BEAUTIFUL from the pictures I’ve seen.

    I miss fall in England (and anywhere, actually. I went to New England last weekend and saw fall and it was amazing!)

  2. One of the things I’ve been wanting to do FOREVER is go to New England in the fall!! Maybe next year before I have to start the J-O-B 😉

  3. First, your opening paragraph sounded like a movie and it made me laugh.

    Second, fall here (in Germany) must be like Oregon’s fall. We don’t have sun much anymore, and I’m happy when we have a sunny day.

    And by the way, where is Alexander going in Germany? And when in the heck are yall going to take us up on the offer for a free place to stay in Heidelberg?! :o)

Leave a Reply

