Day 3- Strasbourg.

When I woke up the morning of Day 3, I actually woke up on time because my alarm actually went off at the appropriate moment. “Time to get up! The time is.. 6:30.” I love getting awoken by a voice alarm rather than a loud, disturbing beep!

I packed up and had another delicious breakfast in our Luxembourg hotel, and braced myself for the freezing cold wait on the street corner because surprise, surprise… at 7:58, when we were supposed to be leaving at 8:00, less than 10 people were in the lobby. However, Dean Gash printed off a list of the next 5 trains to Strasbourg and went over to warn everyone that they were getting left behind if they didn’t get outside promptly, and miraculously everyone started trailing outside. We were on the road to Strasbourg by 8:30. A lot of the countryside between Luxembourg and Strasbourg actually looked a lot like driving in the Northwest or maybe even parts of the east coast. It was only when we passed small towns and the buildings were obviously a lot older than anything in the States that I would remember we weren’t in the USA.

A Little French Countryside

A Little French Countryside

Amazingly Huge Grapes from Luxembourg

Amazingly Huge Grapes from Luxembourg

Our first stop in Strasbourg was the Human Rights court. Everyone was exhausted from getting up so early and the long bus ride, and again it was warm in the room, so we were all fighting to stay awake while a lawyer from Turkey tried to explain the Human Rights court system. I found the talk very interesting but it was definitely a struggle keeping my eyes open. I’m sure it was the vending machine coffee for .50 euros (which was DELICIOUS!) that kept me going! Honestly, my favorite part of this stop was the cheap vending machine coffee and the photo op with a chunk of the Berlin Wall outside the building.

Human Rights Court

Human Rights Court

Berlin Wall

Berlin Wall

Then we were off to our hotel and free until dinner. I had a really cute room with (dangerously low hanging) wood beams overlooking the street. If I leaned out my window I could see the Cathedral. Alexander and I quickly left to go try to find a crepe for me (I really wanted one with chicken and tomatoes and cheese like I’d had in Paris) but sadly the one place that gave us hope was closed until dinner by the time we got there. Ultimately, I bought what I thought was a chicken panini that turned out to be a 3 cheese panini. One of the cheeses looked a lot like chicken! It was still tasty, but I was really craving chicken!

The View

The View

Then we met up with Adam and Krissi, and Dean Gash and his family, at the Cathedral and found out you could pay 2.30 Euros if you were a student to go to the top. 325 tight, winding steps later… We were at the top with the best view of Strasbourg. It was absolutely amazing, but we all got super dizzy walking down. I really expected my legs to be super sore at some point after that, but it’s been several days now and I still haven’t felt any soreness.

Cathedral Notre Dame de Strasbourg

Cathedral Notre Dame de Strasbourg

For all of the pics I took inside and on top of the Cathedral, click here.

After that we basically walked around the town with Adam and Krissi for the rest of the afternoon. I saw a giraffe bowl inside a coffee shop and went in and bought it on a spur of the moment thing, and inside this man was holding the cutest little puppy I’ve ever seen– a little miniature something, I couldn’t understand the breed in French, but his name was Charlie which made him even cuter. The owner let me hold him and I did not want to give him back afterwards. When we had to leave I said “I feel like the love of my life just walked away” and Alexander was like “It’s ok, I know I can’t compete with that.” Haha.

Charlie! 3

Charlie! ❤

We had dinner in a restaurant that looked like a cave and served “Alsace-style” food (Alsace is the region of France where Strasbourg is). It consisted of “Alsace Onion Pie” and salad, then what looked like a ripped in half chicken with some pasta, and then what looked like a tarte flambee with some kind of cooked fruit on top (I didn’t taste it, but it was either apples or pears). If you know me at all, you probably know that (1) I can’t handle meat that still looks like an animal on my plate (this has nothing to do with me feeling bad about eating animals), and (2) I don’t like cooked fruit in desserts. So, not my favorite meal, but the restaurant and atmosphere were cool and many people liked the food so it was all good 🙂

After dinner, we ended wandering around trying to find a dessert place, ending up in a slightly sketchy area, and then returning from the area we originally came from and just getting some ice cream at a pizza place. A lot of people were going out after that, but I decided to just go back to my room and sleep because it was already pretty late by then, and I like sleep!

Days 4 and 5 to come later!

3 thoughts on “Day 3- Strasbourg.

  1. Aww Charlie!!!! Everytime I think about him I want him! Yesterday walking out to the Giants of Causeway in Northern Ireland, Alexander mentioned that it would be so great to bring “Charlie” there (referring to my own future Charlie, not the one that belonged to that random guy in France..hehe).

Leave a Reply

