Nearly 1 Month in the UK.

I can’t believe it has already been almost 4 weeks since I arrived in London. That means my time here is already almost a 1/4th finished. Currently I’m really missing being able to call Joni and Melissa and my mom–among other people back home–but otherwise I am really enjoying this experience and trying to figure out where to live when I get back so I can still walk a lot like I do now. I never realized how much I liked walking until I lived in Miracle Mile over the summer, and then now in London where I walk further than I would have previously thought possible.

For a few highlights from the past few days:

– Friday I went for a walk and got lost for awhile (oops), but for the first time saw little school children dressed up in the cutest little uniforms ever. Given the neighborhood and the over all look of things, I’m pretty sure those were private schools for very wealthy kids, not your average little Brit.

A Friday Afternoon Walk

A Friday Afternoon Walk

– Friday night the Looneys and I each bought one of the “2 Can Dine for 10 pounds” meals at Marks & Spencer. Basically, for 10 pounds you can get a main dish, a side dish, a dessert, and a bottle of wine. Such a good deal! So then Krissi cooked it for us and Alexander came over and the four of us shared a feast of food for an average of 5 pounds each! πŸ™‚

– Saturday morning I spent the morning reading while some random eastern european men literally tore apart our bathroom and put it back together again. I peeked out there once and vowed to just stay in my bedroom until they were done because it was such a MESS in there. Luckily, we now have a working shower and I don’t have to sit down in the tub to wash my hair! The hot water will burn your flesh right off… but beggars can’t be choosers. πŸ˜‰

_ Saturday afternoon I went out with the Looneys for awhile, ultimately ended up at an Italian restaurant in Bayswater for dinner with them and Alexander, and then we went back to Marks & Spencer for some ice cream and brownies and took it back to Casa Looney for dessert!

– Today (Sunday) we had big plans to ride the London Eye and to go through the Tower of London. Long story short– there was a huge festival going on down on the Thames, and a lot of walking on our part which ultimately led to us postponing our Eye ride to a less busy time, and postponing the Tower tour until we have longer than an hour to go through it. We did, however, have a great time taking photos and being out in the first day of full sunshine we’ve had since we arrived. Yay sunny days!

Westminster Bridge (London Eye in the background)

Westminster Bridge (London Eye in the background)

Fun Fountain

Fun Fountain

Adam & Krissi walking toward St. Pauls Cathedral

Adam & Krissi walking toward St. Paul's Cathedral

Tower of London

Tower of London

We Won! ;) ...Statue Outside Tower of London

We Won! πŸ˜‰ ...Statue Outside Tower of London

Tower Bridge!

Tower Bridge!

These pictures, and many more, can be viewed in London Part II and London Part III on my facebook.

One thought on “Nearly 1 Month in the UK.

Leave a Reply

